Skip to content

Fall 2010 Semester Academic Calendar

Subject to Change without notice. Last updated 07/19/2010.

July 2010

Date Event
Friday, July 16 Payment Deadline for Fall 2010 Semester

August 2010

Date Event
Monday-Thursday, August 16-19 Orientation, Advising and Registration
Friday, August 20 Holiday: Statehood Day
Sunday, August 22 Last Day to Register without $30 Late Fee
Sunday, August 22 Last Day to Withraw From Classes Without Owing Tuition & Fees
Monday, August 23 First Day of Instruction (A $30.00 Late Registration Fee will be Charged for New Registrations on or after the First Day of Instruction)
Friday, August 27 Last Day to Register or Add a Class
Saturday-Friday, August 28-September 3 Late Add with Permission Only

September 2010

Date Event
Friday, September 3 Last Day to Completely Withdraw From Classes Without Owing Tuition. (If you register and decide to not attend, you must officially withdraw by this date. Failure to withdraw will result in a financial obligation to the UH System and may result in an "F" for the class(es) not attended. Student fees are still owed.)
Monday, September 6 Holiday: Labor Day
Friday, September 10 Final Deadline to apply for Fall 2010 Graduation
Friday, September 10 Last Day to Exercise Credit/No Credit Option
Friday, September 10 Last Day to Submit Auditors Form
Monday, September 13 Last Day to Drop Classes without "W"
Monday, September 13 Last Day to Receive 50% Refund of Tuition for Complete Withdrawals (If you have not yet paid for your tuition, your account will be charged for 50% of the tuition and all fees.)
Monday, September 13 No Refunds Issued After this Date

October 2010

Date Event
Friday, October 1 Priority Deadline to Apply for Spring 2011 Graduation
Friday, October 15 Last Day to Withdraw From Courses with "W"
Friday, October 29 Last Day to Submit Approved Summer 2011 Curriculum Documents to Registrar

November 2010

Date Event
Monday, November 1 "I" Removal Deadline: Student to Instructor
Monday, November 1 Last Day to Apply for Credit-by-Exam for Fall
Tuesday, November 2 Holiday: Election Day
Friday, November 5 Graduate Form 3: Thesis/Dissertation to Committee Deadline
Thursday, November 11 Holiday: Veteran's Day
Monday, November 15 "I" Removal Deadline: Instructor to the Office of the Registrar
Monday, November 15 Last Day to Submit Credit-by-Exam Results to the Office of the Registrar
Friday, November 19 Graduate Form 3: Thesis Defense/Dissertation Deadline
Thursday, November 25 Holiday: Thanksgiving Day - Campus Closed
Friday, November 26 Non-Instructional Day - Campus Closed

December 2010

Date Event
Wednesday, December 1 Last Day to Apply for Spring 2011 Classified Admission
Friday, December 3 Graduate Form 3: Thesis/Dissertation to Library and Office of the Registrar Deadline
Thursday, December 9 Last Day of Instruction
Thursday, December 9 Last Day to Completely Withdraw (from all classes) with a "W"
Monday-Friday, December 13-17 Final Examinations
Friday, December 17 Last Day to Submit Change of Major Form to the Office of the Registrar
Friday, December 17 Fall Semester Ends
Saturday, December 18 UH Hilo Commencement
Monday, December 20 Final Grade Due in MyUH portal at 12 noon

January 2011

Date Event
Friday, January 14 Graduate Form 4 for Fall Graduates: Certificate of Completion of Degree Requirements due to the Office of the Registrar. No extensions.

Early Registration for Spring 2011

Date Event
Thursday, November 18 Advising Begins
Monday, November 29 Early Registration for Continuing Classified Students

Fall 2010 Final Exam Schedule

  1. Find the starting time of your class in the first column
  2. Find the number assigned to your class days in the second or third column of the Time Block Table.
  3. Find the class’ number in the Exam Table.

Time Block Table

Class Starting Time M-W-F Tu-Th
Between 07:30 and 08:25am 1 13
Between 08:30 and 09:25am 2 14
Between 09:30 and 10:25am 3 15
Between 10:30 and 11:25am 4 16
Between 11:30 and 12:25pm 5 17
Between 12:30 and 01:25pm 6 18
Between 01:30 and 02:25pm 7 19
Between 02:30 and 03:25pm 8 20
Between 03:30 and 04:25pm 9 21
Between 04:30 and 05:25pm 10 22
Between 05:30 and 06:25pm 11 23
06:30pm and after 12 24

Exam Table

Exam Times
Dec
Mon
13
Tue
14
Wed
15
Thu
16
07:30 - 09:30am 1 14 2 13
09:40 - 11:40am 3 16 4 15
11:50 - 01:50pm 5 18 6 17
02:00 - 04:00pm 7 20 8 19
04:10 - 06:10pm 9 22 10 21
06:20 - 08:20pm 11 24 12 23
  • Classes that meet one evening per week, the final examination will be given on the same day and time during the final exam week.
  • Classes that meet on both M, W, F and Tu, Th blocks have the option of having the exam in either time block.
  • Classes meeting on Saturdays will have final examinations on Saturday of the final exam week.

To contact the UH Hilo Office of the Registrar, email uhhro@hawaii.edu. Questions regarding other University of Hawai╩╗i campuses should be directed to the appropriate campus contact.