Department of Political Science and Administration of Justice Awards and Scholarships


The POLS/AJ department faculty members nominate and select the recipients of the following annual awards:

Regina F. Titunik Distinguished Research Paper Award

In memory of Dr. Regina F. Titunik’s contributions to the Political Science Department, the UH Hilo community, and her focus on improving the writing skills of students, each year the author of one distinguished research paper receives this honor with a certificate and small cash award.

Lindsay Emerson
We congratulate Lindsay Emerson, our 2020-2021 Titunik Award recipient!

Rick A. Castberg Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior

In honor of Dr. Rick A. Castberg’s contributions to the Political Science Department, UH Hilo, and the broader community, each year one distinguished graduating senior receives this recognition with a small cash award and certificate.

James Matsumoto
We congratulate James Matsumoto, our 2020-2021 Castberg Award recipient!


Willard D. Keim Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship endowment has been established by the family of the late Dr. Willard D. Keim to award annual scholarships to Political Science majors who meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a full-time (12 semester hours or more) student enrolled at UH Hilo at time of application and during scholarship year.
  • Political Science major.
  • Record or promise of academic excellence; GPA of 3.0 or higher.
  • Record of school and community activities.
  • Scholarship is renewable, dependent upon continued satisfactory performance.

Nevaeh Fukui-Stoos
We congratulate Nevaeh Fukui-Stoos, our 2020-2021 Keim Scholarship recipient!