Upper Division Requirement

The College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), the College of Natural and Health Sciences (CNHS), the College of Business and Economics (COBE), and Ka Haka ʻUla O Keʻelikōlani/College of Hawaiian Language (KHUOK) usually require students to earn at least 45 semester hours in courses at the 300- and 400-level (also called “upper-division courses"). However, for some majors requiring more than 15 semester hours in 100- and 200-level courses, the upper-division course requirement has been reduced. The majors with reduced upper division requirements are:

  • Art
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science/Studies
  • Geology
  • Marine Science
  • Natural Science
  • Nursing, RN to BSN program
  • Performing Arts
  • Physics