Geography and Environmental Science Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Kathryn J. Besio

Kathryn J. Besio

Professor

(808) 932-7253
besio@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 258

Courses: Geography and Contemporary Society; Cultural Geography; Food and Societies; Gender, Place and Environment.
Research: Tourism geography, qualitative research methods, research ethics, home gardens and local foods.

Christopher Knudson

Christopher

Assistant Professor

(808) 932-7823
knudsonc@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 256

Ryan Perroy

Ryan Perroy Chair and Associate Professor

(808) 932-7259
rperroy@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 275
Website

Courses: Remote Sensing, Advanced Geo-Spatial Techniques, Climate Change, Introduction to Geostatistics, Field Methods.
Research: Exploring land degradation and recovery processes, such as erosion and invasive species, using sUAS and remote sensing, X-ray fluorescence, and traditional field methods.

Jonathan Price

Jonathan

Professor

(808) 932-7241
jpprice@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 248

Courses: Biogeography, Principles of Landscape Ecology, Senior Thesis.
Research: Utilizing GIS to identify biodiversity hotspots for native bird and plant species, search for rare species, and locate appropriate areas for the restoration of threatened and endangered species.

Michelle L. Shuey

Michelle

Instructor

(808) 932-7258
mshuey@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 260

Courses: Natural Resources, Interpretation of Geographic Data, Environmental Impact Assessment, Intro Environmental Science, Natural Hazards/Disasters, Geography and the Natural Environment, World Regional Geography, and UNIV 101.
Research: The relationship between humans and nature, and how people see and create nature as they believe it to exist based on cultural, religious, or societal beliefs.

Lecturers

Nancy "Nan" Elmer

Nancy

Lecturer

(808) 932-7254
nancye@hawaii.edu
Kanakaʻole Hall, room 258B

Courses: World Regional Geography, Geography and the Natural Environment, Themes in Regional Geography.
Research: Political and cultural change over time and space.