FC Membership 2017-2018

FC Members 2017-2018


Jan Ray Chair of the Faculty Congress and Professor of Education


Philippe Binder Co-Chair of Faculty Congress and Professor of Physics


Kimberly Shmina Secretary and Assistant Professor of Nursing

FC Representatives

CAS Humanities Division Representatives

CAS Natural Sciences Representatives

CAS Social Science Representatives

CAS Nursing Representative

  • Kimberly Shmina Assistant Professor of Nursing

CoBE Representative

  • Thomas DeWitt Associate Professor of Marketing

DKICoP Representatives

  • Leng Chee Chang Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Shugeng Cao Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Louis Lteif Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
  • Allen Shih Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Mookini Library Representative

Ka Haka ‘Ula O Ke‘elikōlani Representative

CAFNRM Representative

UHHSA Representative

  • Vester "Boomer" Robester

Student Affairs Representative

  • Emily Low Mental Health Counselor

FC Chairs

CAS Chair

Kat Young Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science and Coordinator for the Administration of Justice


Armando García-Ortega Associate Professor of Aquaculture

CoBE Chair

Kimberly Furumo Professor of Management of Information Services

Ka Haka ‘Ula O Ke‘elikōlani Chair

Kekoa Harman Associate Professor of Hawaiian Studies & Hawaiian Language

DKICoP Chair


Mookini Library Chair

Amy Saxton Librarian of Public Services & Distance Learning

FC Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)

  • Marcia Sakai Interim Chancellor
  • Ken Hon Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Professor of Geology and Volcanology
  • Kalei Rapoza Interim Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs
  • Farrah-Marie Gomes Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
  • Bruce Mathews Dean for College of Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resource Management and Professor of Soil Science
  • Michael Bitter Interim Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and Professor of History
  • Tam Vu Interim Dean and Professor of Economics
  • Julie Mowrer Director of the English Language Institute, Acting Director of the CCECS and the Acting Director of NHERC
  • Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa Director of the Ka Haka ʻUla O Keʻelikōlani/College of Hawaiian Language
  • Thora Abarca Interim University Librarian
  • Carolyn Ma Dean and Associate Professor of the College of Pharmacy