Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Zoom

Need immediate assistance with your Hybrid or Online Course(s)?

For UH Hilo distance learning software and issues, see the UH Hilo Distance Learning Team website or email us at uhhilodl@hawaii.edu.

Limited Live Zoom Assistance: M-F 10:00am - 2:00pm

Zoom Video Communiations

What is Zoom?

Zoom is a web collaboration tool available to all University of Hawaiʻi students, faculty, and staff.

Zoom Toolkit (Start here!)

This document will show you how to:

  • Acquire a UH Zoom Licensed Account
  • Request a access to the UH Zoom cloud service
  • Tutorials
  • Technical support
  • AND MORE!!!

Click the button below to view the dynamically updated document:

Zoom Toolkit (Google Doc)

Zoombombing

Zoombombing refers to uninvited participants joining a zoom video conference sharing their screen and showing inappropriately graphic content, shouting constantly so no one can hear, or behaving inappropriately on their webcam.

Protecting Your Zoom Room

Basic Practices

The default settings of the service are configured in the expectation of trust between participants, Zoombombers (uninvited guests) use these settings to broadcast unwanted images, videos, and or text.
We recommend the following:


Inital Setup Before Your Session

The following changes must be done from the Zoom.us webpage before your meeting. You cannot make these changes from the desktop or mobile application.

Hosts are Highly Recommended to enable the following settings to maximize your Zoom room security. You must create an account for these settings to persist. If you have not done so, create your Zoom account using your Hawaii.edu information.

Zoom Settings Menu

Disabling Screen Sharing Annotations

Disable this function to avoid guests being able to draw or annotate onto your screen share.

Annotation option

Disabling File Transfers

As an extra layer of security, it is recommended that you disable file share capability. Files should be distributed via Laulima.

File Transfer option

Disabling Member Renaming

Disable this function to avoid distracting or inappropriate name changes after guests have been admitted into your Zoom room.

Rename option

Inviting Participants (Password Required to Enter All Zoom Rooms)

Starting April 5, Zoom will be enabling meeting passwords for all meetings. Previously scheduled meetings will have passwords automatically added to them (including your Personal Meeting Room/ID). Zoom recommends resending your meeting invitation to all participants. See the UH System informational Zoom page for more details: Zoom updates

Use the "Invite" button in your Zoom meeting to access the options below.

Click on the "Copy Invitation" to copy the invitation information to your clipboard. The invitation will contain your meeting link and your password. Copy and paste this information into your email or Laulima.

Invite Button

Note: Your meeting password can also be found in the bottom right corner of the invitation window.

  • It is highly recommended that you only post your embedded Zoom link(s) in Laulima to control who has access to your meeting.
  • Do Not share your embedded Zoom(s) links publicly or on social media platforms.

Invite Options

Below is a partial copy of an actual invitation. The hyperlink will automatically login to your session with the required password.

Participant Invite

Optional: If you prefer to send or post your Zoom session with a separated password, there are several options:

  • Have guests go to Zoom.us, See the figure above.

    • Enter the Meeting ID
    • Enter your Meeting Password
  • Send a meeting link without an embedded password.

    • Remove the password information from the link by deleting everything after the "?" symbol. Password Removed from Link
    • Provide the guests with the required password via email, phone, etc.

During Your Session - Host Controls

Screen Sharing

Disable this option to prevent unauthorized guest screen sharing. Anyone publicly sharing Zoom links should be sure to change Share Screen to “Host Only” before a call starts or as soon as they see the feature being abused.

Share Button

Sharing Options

Waiting Room

Enable Waiting Rooms to prevent uninvited guests from joining. Click Security at the bottom of your Zoom window to access the feature. The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees one by one or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once.

Waiting Room

Locking Sessions

Lock the Meeting when you’re in the meeting, click Security at the bottom of your Zoom window. When you lock the meeting, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password.

Lock Menu

Participant Menu

Use the Participant menu to access the functions:

Participant Menu

Muting All Guests

  • If you're lecturing, mute all students to avoid distractions. Muting Audio

Stopping the Video Feed

You have the option to stop a video feed (video only) during your session. Participants will not be able to reactivate their video feed without the host. Note: By muting the conversation, participants can unmute themselves.
Stop Video Menu

Removing Participants

To remove an individual from your Zoom room, select to remove option. The person will not be able to re-join the session unless he or she joins using a different device.
After removing individuals, we suggest you lock your session.
Removal Menu

Additional UH System & Zoom Resources

Zoom Help Center - Setup and Tutorials
ITS Recommended Zoom Settings
ITS Zoom Scheduling Recommendation
UH Data Governance site

Updated 8/18/2020