Faculty Governance

Consistent with UH Executive Policy E1.101 and E1.201, and BOR policy P1-10, the UH Hilo Congress advises the Chancellor of UH Hilo through the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs on all academic matters of concern to more than one of the degree-granting colleges. Members are selected for two-year terms and each unit, including the Student Government Association, determines its own method of electing representatives. All faculty representatives must be tenured or on the tenure-track. New members are seated at the first meeting of the Congress, no later than September 30th for each academic year.

Congress standing committees are: the Academic Policy Committee, the Assessment Support Committee, the Budget Committee, and the General Education Committee. The Congress oversees curriculum that crosses colleges through the Campus-wide Curriculum Review Committee, the chair of which is elected from among Congress members. Find the Congress charter, by-laws, committees and committee memberships, reports, and minutes of meetings at the Faculty Congress website.

The Congress also oversees the Academic Policy Proposal and Modification Process. Flowcharts and explanatory notes describing both processes are posted at  hilo.hawaii.edu/policies/.

The six degree-granting colleges are each led by a dean (CAFNRM, CAS, CNHS, CoBE, CoP) or a director (CHL). See the "College Dean as Decision Maker" in this handbook for a concise description of this aspect of the dean's responsibilities. CAS divisions are overseen by division chairs, faculty who also teach one course per semester. The College of Pharmacy has an associate dean.

The College of Arts and Sciences has an elected faculty Curriculum Review Committee and Academic Policy committee. The faculty senates of CoBE and CAFNRM are each comprised of all tenure-track and tenured faculty of the college. The CHL faculty senate is comprised of all full-time faculty of the college; the college is administered by a director, who is a faculty member with time reassigned for administrative service. These faculty senates review and advise the college dean/director on all additions, deletions and modifications to college courses, programs and degree requirements; initiate policy, advise the dean/director and monitor college admissions; initiate policy and advise the dean/director on all other matters of college-wide concern either proposed by faculty or referred to it by the dean. The faculty senates of CAFNRM and CHL also review and advise the college dean/director on all student petitions.

The College of Pharmacy does not have a senate; rather, there is a policy committee and a curriculum review committee comprised of faculty representatives, and all full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty participate in the review of all curricular and policy proposals put forward by the committees. Proposals approved by the faculty are forwarded to the dean.

See the Curriculum section of this handbook for more information on the role of faculty governance in curricular and other matters.

Reviewed June 2013-AKS; Jan 2019 - BVL;