UH Hilo Faculty Congress

DRAFT Minutes of Meeting

September 19, 2003


The meeting was called to order by the chair, Jerry Calton , at 3:07 p.m. 


Present : Jerry Calton, Bill Mautz, Barbara Leonard, David Miller, Sabry Shehata, Helen Rogers, Barbara Heintz, Lincoln Gotshalk, Bob Fox, Philippe Binder, and Student Members: Liko Puha, Lehuanani Ah Nee,  Ginger Takeshita, and (? Meio? [illegible] for Melvin Jadulang

Ex Officio: Rose Tseng, and Margaret Haig


1.                  Minutes of the meeting of August 21, 2003 were reviewed and approved.


2.                  Committee Reports

a. General Education and Assessment Committees. April Komenaka  (GE committee) and Nina Buchanan (assessment committee) are out of town and submitted written reports.


b. Standing Committee membership recruitment

Liko Puko requested to nominate student members to the General Education Committee.  He was asked to submit nominees to April Komenaka.

Sabry Shehata will continue to serve on the Academic Policy Committee until he can find an alternate.

            Barbara Heintz will represent the Office of Student Affairs on the Academic Policy Committee.  Also serving will be Rick Castberg representing Social Sciences and Cecelia Mukai representing Natural Sciences.

            For the Budget Committee, David Hammes will continue representing Business, Vladimir Skorakov will continue representing Social Sciences, Sabry Shehata will represent Agriculture, Gail Makuakane-Lundin will represent Student Affairs, and Kalina Silva will be asked to represent Hawaiian Language.  Humanities representation is still open.


A motion was made to accept the roster of new committee members.  The motion was approved unanimously.


David Miller pointed out that there is a circular inconsistency in the structure of the Academic Policy Committee as established in the UHH Congress Bylaws. 

            In principle, it is the purpose of the Congress to represent the UHH faculty and advise the UHH administration including the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs.  In turn, it is the function of the UHH Congress committees to advise the Congress, yet the bylaws includes the “Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs or his/her designate” (paragraph 5, section a) as a member of the Academic Policy Committee.  In practice, the Academic Policy Committee seeks the VC Academic Affairs’ advice when appropriate, but the VC academic Affairs does not generally attend the committee meetings.  Because of the fact that, in principle, membership of the VC Academic Affairs on a UHH Congress committee is contrary to the intended flow of initiatives and advice of committees to the UHH Congress and UHH administration, discussion favored removing the “and Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs or his/her designate” phrase from the Bylaws (Parag 5, Section A).  It was noted that while it is recommended that the VC Academic Affairs should not serve as a voting member of the Academic Policy Committee, the committee should continue to seek the VC Academic Affairs’ advice as appropriate.  An amendment of the Bylaws to this effect will be considered for further discussion and submission to a vote at the next meeting of the UHH Congress.


c. Discussion regarding other committees

Technology Committee.  The issue was raised as to whether this committee should consider other “technology”  (eg media) besides computer technology.


The following committees were formed outside of the participation of the UHH Congress.  The Congress will contact the college senates or equivalent body to inquire about their status.  Next month the status of these committees will be addressed by the UHH Congress.


Ad Hoc Student Success and Retention Committee. This committee needs a chairperson.  Barbara Leonard also suggested that this committee needs faculty representation from outside Student Services.  Current members are Karla Hayashi, Bill Sakai, and Justin Perry (student advisor? My notes are unclear).  It was also reported that Craig Severance is willing to convene the committee and serve as a member, but not as chair.


Ad Hoc Committee on Teaching Excellence Members include David Hammes and Craig Severance.


Ad Hoc Committee to Review the Course Evaluation Form.  Members include Marta de Maintenon, and Robin Takahashi.  This committee needs members from Colleges of Agriculture and Hawaiian Language.


3. Review of tasks for the 2003-2004 Congress including tasks carried over from 2002-2003. 

Jerry Calton, acting as chair of the Academic Policy Committee, will work with the Budget Committee to prioritize 19 issues in the strategic plan over the next semester.  Bob Fox stated that the Budget and Academic Policy committees would work to bring the strategic initiatives in accord with the strategic plan.


It was mentioned again that there is a need for a Technology Committee to develop a “Technology Plan”.  David Miller questioned whether “technology” should include distance learning and other technologies.


Other issues for the Congress to continue to address include:

1.Reaching agreement with administration on the process for formation of campus committees.

2. Establishing criteria for the selection of faculty to committees.

3. Defining the process for program initiation.

4.Resolving questions about the administering of graduate education at UHH.


4.      David Miller introduced a proposal for creation of an ad hoc Congress committee on “Governance” for discussion only (any motions for approval and vote to be postponed for the next meeting). 

At issue are the facts that there are ongoing processes and continued formation of faculty committees without the involvement of the UHH Congress.  For example: 1) the interpretation of a WASC recommendation to centralize faculty governance as a requirement for abolition of the College Senates without faculty discussion or question of the need for this.  2) The status of faculty committees appointed by the administration without consulting the congress, committees that the congress must necessarily classify as rogue committees.  Several members viewed this issue as especially troubling given the crisis of confidence in administration that this issue, in concert with the issue of release time for standing committee chairs, led to the temporary resignation of UHH Congress standing committee chairs last spring.  It was questioned whether the Congress will have to work all over again to resolve the rogue committee problem, which we thought had been laid to rest last spring in mutual agreement between Congress and the administration.

            Barbara Leonard reported she had experience at other universities where these problems had been successfully resolved by a clearly written policy that addresses:

            -Areas where faculty have primary authority, eg curriculum.

            -Areas where faculty have authority of recommendation, eg budget

            -Areas where faculty are informed of administrative actions, eg strategic initiatives

Such a policy must be co-written by administration and faculty to be successful.

Discussion was in favor that this idea should be pursued by the Congress with further information gathering and future discussion.


Meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.


A marvelous reception followed the meeting at Barbara Leonard’s home.  Thank you Barbara.


Respectfully submitted,

Bill Mautz,

Vice Chair, UHH Congress