Skip to content

S.T.A.R. AWARDS - Past Winners

2016 Winners

  • Leadership Award - Enrollment Services - Admissions, Financial Aid, and Office of the Registrar

Photo of Enrollment services representatives receiving award

  • Positivity Award - Mackenzie Slayton

(Photo unavailable since Mackenzie was teaching swimming lessons - out being positive!!)

  • Work Smarter - Lai Sha Bugado

Photo of Lai Sha Bugado recieving award

  • Go To - Andrew Polloi

Photo of Andrew Polloi receiving award

2015 Winners

  • Leadership Award - Leonard Woods
  • Positivity Award - Susan Shirachi
  • Work Smarter - Malia Callo
  • Go To - Ho'oleina Ioane & Keani Santa-Isabel

To see pictures, and the 2015 S.T.A.R Awards in the news click here.

2014 Winners - (No photos available)

  • 'Work Smarter' - Comfort Sumida
  • 'Go To' - Holly Garriques and Jania Shirai
  • 'Positivity' - Dolly Roth
  • 'VCSA Leadership Award' - UH Hilo Advising Center

2013 Award Winners

"Work Smarter" - Justin Leibowitz

Justin L 2013

"Positivity" - Michelle Agbigay

Michelle Agbigay

Vice Chancellor's "Leadership" Award -
Kelly Oaks, Andrea Adrian, John Oshima, Elenita Hopkins (not in photo)

VCSA Office 2013

2013 Award Winners

"Go To" - Curtis Nishioka

Kurtis nishioka 2013

2012 Award Winners

"Work Smarter" - Chelsey Kay-Wong

Chelsey Work Smarter

"Positivity" -

Jean -positivity

Vice Chancellor's "Leadership" Award - Tim Moore

Tim Leadership Award

"Go To" - Andrea Adrian

Andrea Go To

2011 Award Winners

"Go To" - Kolby Santiago, Financial Aid

"Go To" - Kallen Miyataki, Athletics

"Work Smarter" - Miles Nagata, Housing

"Positivity" - Kurt de la Cruz, Advising


Vice Chancellor's "Leadership" Award - Jim Mellon, Asst. Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs & Dean of Students

Jim Mellon head shot


2010 Award Winners (Tie)

"Go To" - Tommy Hamilton, Assistant Director - Campus Recreation

"Go To" - Norm Stahl, Director - Career Development Services

tommy norm stahl

Work Smarter Award Winner - Kainoa Ariola, Director - Advising Center    


"Positivity Award" Winner - Gayleen Roldan, Office Assistant - MAAP/UDS   


Vice Chancellor's "Leadership" Award - Gail Makuakane-Lundin, Executive Coordinator - Kipuka

Gail Makuakane-Lundin

See more photos DSA Year End BBQ