Skip to content

College of Pharmacy honors its top students

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Thursday, April 22, 2010
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The top 37 students from the University of Hawai╩╗i at Hilo College of Pharmacy classes of 2011 and 2012 were presented awards at a banquet in their honor April 16 at the Hilo Yacht Club.

Dean John M. Pezzuto congratulated the awardees and recounted the tremendous progress of the College over the past few years. Remarks were also given by Dr. Luoluo Hong, UH Hilo vice chancellor for student affairs, Rob Parke, district team leader, Target, and Roger Thomas, Target team leader, Kailua-Kona store.

The keynote speaker was Victor Yanchick, immediate past president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and dean of Virginia Commonwealth University. He spoke about the pursuit of excellence and leadership in pharmacy.

Students honored from the class of 2011 include: Cherie Chu, Natalie Codianne, Amber Duncan, Ceslee Fukuhara, Lisa Hagiwara, Ashley Hori, Oh-Young Kim, Ellen Loney, Annie Mar, Ryan Mashiyama, Erika Miyahira, Casey Ogata, Rochelle Oledzki, EnochJoh Ronduen, Quinn Taira, Jonathan Tam, Jessica Toyama, and Veneta Tsonev. Students honored from the class of 2012 include: Lawrence Chan, Bernie Cheng, Megan Ching, Raeanne Fuller, Carol Lynn Goo, Richelle Hirata, Susan Kang, Daralyn Kawamoto, Paul Kim, Kari Kurihara, Amber Laird, Tanya Moore, Brian Niimi, Alexandra Perez, Bryceson Tanaka, Henry Tran, Sally Van, Wendy Yamasaki-Herring and Marina Yeh.

The banquet was made possible thanks to a gift provided by Target. According to Thomas, the company applauds excellence and was pleased to partner with the College of Pharmacy in hosting this first-time event.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.