UH Hilo repeats its success at 2008 National Model United Nations competition

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Wednesday, May 7, 2008
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

For the second straight year, the University of Hawaii at Hilo has received the Distinguished Delegation award at the 2008 National Model United Nations competition in New York City. The team placed in the top 10 percent of the more than 290 universities from around the world. It was the third straight year that the UH Hilo team, coached by Dr. Phillip A. Taylor, professor of political science, won an award at the international competition.

The 21-student delegation from UH Hilo also represented the Republic of Congo exceptionally well. The team prepared for 30 contemporary world issues and contributed to the writing of well over 200 resolutions and reports. UH Hilo senior Matthew “Zeke” Bailey twice chaired the Security Council and was elected as a vice president of the General Assembly’s Executive Committee. Lisa Leffingwell, Kari Rolon, Greg Conner and Mia Munekata were chosen the outstanding delegate of their respective committees.

Ethann Oki served as team president, Amber Lee was head delegate, Bailey was the team’s business manager, and Leffingwell was secretary. Rounding out the team were Rolon, Connor, Munekata, Keshia Adolpho, Kensy Apaka, David Chinn, Matthew Czarnota, Laina Dunn, Noah Gomes, Leilani Josselin, Ryan Kanaka‘ole, Akea Kiyuna, James Kamaka Pili, Stacy Ruegilin, Cody Showalter, Kreesta Vesga and Asia Vanavichai.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.