UH Hilo Model United Nations team distinguishes itself

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Tuesday, March 27, 2007
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

A team of student delegates from the University of Hawaii at Hilo was honored March 22 at the annual National Model United Nations Conference (NMUN) at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. The UH Hilo team, which represented Mexico and competed against nearly 300 colleges and universities in the five-day event, was awarded “Distinguished Delegation.” This recognition means the team placed in the top five percent of all participants and is the equivalent of a second-place finish.

“Our student delegates represented the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo with distinction,” said faculty advisor Dr. Phillip Taylor, professor of political science at UH Hilo. “Last year, our student delegates placed in the top 10 percent. This year, they did even better. Their accomplishments are a great source of pride for the University.”

Team members include: head delegate Amber Lee, club president David Hazelton, Gustavo Arceo, Kimberly Galigo and Arjuna Mc Gowen, seniors, political science; Matthew Bailey, senior, linguistics; Manuel Edghill, senior business; Marc Fournier, senior, geography; Jeremy Gourd, senior, economics; Morgan Warner, senior, psychology; Ethann Oki and Muliufi Tuimalealiifano, juniors, political science; Brittany Marshall, sophomore, political science; and Kreesta Vesga, freshman, political science.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.