UH Hilo announces Chancellor’s Scholars for 2006-07

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Monday, October 30, 2006
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

Chancellor Rose Tseng has named 15 students as recipients of the University of Hawaii at Hilo prestigious Chancellor’s Scholarship for the 2006-07 academic year. The University established the scholarship four years ago to attract, support, and recognize outstanding graduates from high schools throughout the State of Hawai`i.

All recipients graduated in the top 10 percent of their high school class and earned grade point averages of at least 3.5. Other factors such as leadership experience and potential, community service, SAT scores, and financial need were considered in selecting the recipients.

“These young people are among the very best and brightest in the State of Hawai‘i,” Tseng said. “The University of Hawai‘i at Hilo is proud to extend scholarship opportunities to them as a reward for their hard work and dedication and as an incentive for their continued academic excellence.”

New Chancellor’s Scholars from the Big Island are: Lauren Alicuben, Kelli Makino and Tyler Yoshiyama of Hilo High; Katherine ‘Alohi Gronquist, Martha-Ann Suttle and Melissa K. Yoneda of Kamehameha Schools-Hawai‘i Campus; Mailei Bumanglag of Pahoa High; Chiemi Nagle of Laupahoehoe High; Kendall Rau of Kea‘au High; Kamon Steindamm of Kealakehe High; and Mark Villarin of Honoka‘a High.

New Chancellor’s Scholars from the Neighbor Islands are: Akeamakamae Kiyuna of Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama Campus; Dana N. Lee of Mililani High; Earl-Jay Padilla of Waimea High; and Erin S. Yamada of Hawai`i Baptist Academy.

The scholarship includes full tuition for four years as long as the student maintains a superior GPA each year. The Scholars take a course together during their first semester at UH Hilo, and will be invited to participate in various leadership and service opportunities throughout their college careers.

The first group of Chancellor’s Scholars graduated from UH Hilo in May 2006.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.