UH Hilo students named Presidential Scholars

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Thursday, July 14, 2005
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, 974-7642

For Immediate Release

Four University of Hawaii at Hilo students have been named as recipients of the University of Hawai`i’s prestigious Presidential Scholarship. The University of Hawai`i Board of Regents established the Presidential Scholarship and its companion Regents Scholarship to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement.

UH Hilo’s Presidential Scholars and their respective majors are: Marla Garcia (Biology); Heather Kaluna (Astronomy); Branden Lohrey (Natural Science); and Faye Plescia (Psychology).

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to 10 college juniors who earn a cumulative GPA of 3.7 for all their college level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses, and evidence of superior academic achievement or creative endeavor. As Presidential Scholars, each receives a full tuition waiver for two years of undergraduate study, $4,000 a year, and a one-time travel grant of $2,000.

“This is a great honor for which these students and the entire University can be very proud of,” said Chancellor Rose Tseng. “These scholarships are awarded to a select few, so to earn one is a tremendous achievement.”

The 10 Presidential Scholars will be honored along with the 20 incoming freshmen selected for the Regents Scholarship during an annual awards dinner on Monday, July 18, in the UH Manoa Campus Center Ballroom.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.