Call for nominations for 2005 Distinguished Alumni award

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Monday, December 6, 2004
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The University of Hawaii at Hilo Alumni and Friends Association is seeking nominations for its 2005 Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Service Awards. The nomination deadline is December 15, 2004.

“Each year the Association awards one or more Distinguished Alumni Awards to outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves in their careers or service to their communities,” said Alumni Director Yu Yok Pearring. “Nominees must be a recipient of a degree from UH Hilo who have completed 50% of his or her educational program with UH Hilo.”

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are granted based on the nominee’s professional accomplishments, and/or service to the community, and/or service to the University. Award recipients will be recognized at the 2005 Distinguished Alumni and Service Awards Banquet scheduled for February 25.

Past recipients of this prestigious award include: Dr. David Howell (2004); Harvey Tajiri (2004); Norman Mizuguchi (2004); John Coney (2003); Kalani Kahalepau`ole (2003); Dennis K.W. Lee (2003); Martin B. Dickman (2003); Dr. Maile Andrade (2003); Toshimasa and Harumi Takahashi (2003); David Shapiro; Chiyono Kinoshita; Dr. Leila Kanno; Milton Pavao; Quirino Antonio; Jodi Ferreira; Wayne Metcalf; Toshio Serizawa; Peter MacDonald; and Leonard Decambra.

For nomination forms, please call 974-7501 or access it on the Web:

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.