UH Hilo Pharmacy dean honored for accomplishments

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Monday, November 25, 2013
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The dean of the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy was recently presented with the “Friends of Pharmacy Award” for 2013 from the Hawaiʻi Pharmacists Association (HPhA).

John M. Pezzuto was recognized with the annual award at HPhA’s General Membership meeting in October. The award is given to a non-pharmacist who has made significant contributions toward improving or expanding the profession of pharmacy in the State of Hawaiʻi. Previous awardees include: Louise Iwaishi, MD, the Family Medicine Residency Program at the UH John A. Burns School of Medicine; Catharine Takauye, MBA; Senator Suzanne Chun-Oakland; and Representative Marilyn Lee.

“Dr. Pezzuto’s efforts to build a top-ranked, research-intensive pharmacy school from the ground up are unparalleled,” said Carolyn Ma, president of HPhA and associate professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at DKICP. “Through his leadership, Hawaiʻi has the first and only fully accredited college of pharmacy in the Pacific Rim, a growing number of first- and second-year residency opportunities, nationally and internationally recognized expertise and leadership in pharmaceutical research and delivery of rural health care.”

Pezzuto said, “It has been a great honor serving as Founding Dean of the Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy. I am proud of our many accomplishments and unique ability to serve the entire State of Hawaiʻi as well as the Pacific Region as a whole. On behalf of the students, faculty and staff of the College, I am pleased to accept this designation graciously bestowed by the HPhA. They can count on us serving as a ‘Friend of Pharmacy’ for many years to come.”

With approximately 300 members, HPhA is the only professional pharmacy association in Hawaiʻi. Membership represents pharmacy practice in the State and is comprised of pharmacists in various practice settings ranging from retail to hospital to industry, pharmacy students, pharmacy technicians and academia. HPhA is an ACPE accredited provider.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.