UH Hilo awards 2012 Chancellor Scholarships

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Thursday, May 24, 2012
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

Nineteen students from public, private and charter schools in Hawai╩╗i have been awarded the prestigious ChancellorÔÇÖs Scholarship by the University of Hawai╩╗i at Hilo.

The award, valued at $23,520, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawai╩╗i high school who earn either a GPA of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math) or a composite score of 27 on the ACT, while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

The 2012 recipients are a diverse groups of students comprised of 10 women and 9 men from the islands of Hawai╩╗i (9), O`ahu (6) and Maui (4) who were selected from more than 90 applicants. The cohort has an average high school GPA of 3.83, with four students scoring 4.0 or better. The average SAT scores for Reading, Math and Writing were 622, 607 and 560 respectively.

ÔÇťThis is an impressive class of students whose academic achievements, dedication and leadership qualities are outstanding,ÔÇŁ said Chancellor Don Straney. ÔÇťWe believe their decision to attend UH Hilo will benefit the entire University as well as their own personal and professional development.ÔÇŁ

All Chancellor Scholars will be required to enroll as full-time students, stay enrolled continuously, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and/or community services with other Chancellor Scholars.

The 2012 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools are as follows:

Jenna Burns, Hawai╩╗i Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hawai╩╗i; Kobie Clarke, Hilo High School, Hawai╩╗i; Theodore DeRego, Kamehameha (Hawai╩╗i), Hawai╩╗i; Ashley Fukuchi, Moanalua High School, O`ahu; Alexander Guerrero, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Richard Hernandez, Damien Memorial High School, O`ahu; Tyler Hirokawa, Hilo High School, Hawai╩╗i; Casey Jones, Kapolei High School, O`ahu; Johann Kuipers, Hilo High School, Hawai╩╗i; Kate Malasig, W.R. Farrington High School, O`ahu; Jamie Ouye, Hilo High School, Hawai╩╗i; Kara Paulachak, Waiakea High School, Hawai╩╗i; Koa Rodrigues, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Dillon Tacdol, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Michelle Uchida, Sacred Hearts Academy High School, O`ahu; Jasmine Venegas, Waiakea High School, Hawai╩╗i; Donald Waner, Lanakila Baptist High School, O`ahu; Bailey Wooldridge, Hawai╩╗i Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hawai╩╗i; and Jenna Yanos, Maui High School, Maui.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.