UH Hilo wins top award at Model United Nations

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Monday, April 16, 2012
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Model United Nations Team, Hui Na Lahui Huipu, captured the highest honor at this year’s Model United Nations Competition by being named an Outstanding Delegation. The competition, held at the United Nations headquarters in New York, annually draws some 3,000 college students representing over 200 universities and colleges from around the world.

“The conference is the National Model United Nations, but in fact over half of the 200-plus colleges and universities were from outside the U.S.,” said Dr. Phillip A. Taylor, UH Hilo political science professor who served as the team’s coach and faculty advisor. “UH Hilo was one of the smallest schools in attendance, which makes receiving the ‘Outstanding Delegation’ award all the more remarkable. All members of the team worked extremely hard and contributed to this, and are most deserving of the award.”

UH Hilo’s 14-member delegation was assigned to represent Finland. As Finnish diplomats, they engaged in five intense days of mock UN deliberations presenting their country’s foreign policy positions on 21 issues debated before seven committees. Their preparation also included researching rules of procedure, background and history of the United Nations, as well as refining their skills in speechmaking, caucusing and negotiation.

This is the first time UH Hilo has won an “Outstanding Delegation” award, which is presented to teams that place in the top five percent among the entire field of competition. UH Hilo has turned in strong performances in recent years by winning the second place Distinguished Delegation award four times since 2006, and the third place Honorable Mention once, awarded to teams in the top 15 percent.

The team was led by head delegate Greg Conner. Other members of the “Outstanding Delegation” include club president Elyssa Correia, business manager Mindy Alles, Krista Aoki, Jeffrey Aurelio, Lea Black, Taylor Coons, Rebekah Duncan, Suilan Ho`okano, Heather Huffman Ross, Robyn Taniguchi, Kathy Todd, Conan Vierra and Kelli Yamane.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "hilo.hawaii.edu" or ".uhh.hawaii.edu" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.