First of UH Hilo Chancellor Finalists Visits Campus

Dr. Kristin Croyle holds open presentation for community

Copy Editor Rosannah Gosser
*Photos Courtesy of Kevianna Adams_

Nov. 2, 2018

Kristin Croyle stands next to UH Hilo podium

The first of the finalists contending for the position of UH Hilo’s chancellor held an open presentation for students, faculty, staff, and community members on Nov. 2, 2018 in Rose and Raymond Tseng Terrace of the University Classroom Building. The meet-and-greet is one of four open presentations during November that will be put on to provide the campus community an opportunity to learn about each potential chancellor.

Dr. Kristin L. Croyle spoke about the role of regional universities as foundations of stewardship, cultural life, and civic engagement in their communities, going on to explain some of the challenges that regional universities face in modern times, such as the shifting focus of higher education as a private, not public, good and the declining high school graduation rate in the U.S.

Croyle ended her presentation with a list of attributes that she believes makes UH Hilo special, including the campus’ emphasis on ʻaina, ohana, kuleana, and applied learning. Her goals for UH Hilo are centered on determining the ideal combination of students that will best benefit the community, and then developing the UHH experience to best serve students.

The majority of the presentation was attended by campus staff and faculty. In the audience were four students, three of which were members of Ke Kalahea.

"The Search Advisory Committee is pleased to invite these candidates with outstanding administrative experience and perspectives," said Search Advisory Committee Co-Chair Farrah-Marie Gomes in an email to the campus community. "We look forward to the campus visits and receiving feedback from the various constituent groups."

The successive presentations will be held Nov. 9, Nov. 14, and Nov. 16 at 10:15 a.m. in Rose and Raymond Tseng Terrace for the other chancellor finalists: Bonnie D. Irwin, Ming-Tung “Mike” Lee, and Terisa C. Riley.