UH Hilo Distance Learning

Distance Learning Policy Committee

This committee was charged as follows by the VCAA during A/Y 2016-17

The Distance Learning Policy Committee existed to examine and recommend institutional policies and practices for supporting the design, development, implementation and evaluation of distance learning program and course offerings with a focus upon quality and connection to the mission of the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.

Initially and specifically, the committee was charged with the responsibility to:

  • Identify and help resolve distance learning policy issues through formulation and recommendation to the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs on UH Hilo Distance Learning Policies, and
  • Identify and promulgate best practices in distance learning through the formulation and recommendation of UH Hilo Distance Learning Course Development and Implementation Guidelines.

Committee Members

  • Chair: Kirsten Møllegaard , Chair and Associate Professor, English, CAS
  • Linda Connelly, Chair and Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Alice Davis, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Kim Furumo, Professor, Management Information Systems, COBE
  • Māhealani Jones, Graduate Division and Articulation Specialist
  • Scott Saft , Chair and Associate Professor, Linguistics
  • Amy Saxton , Librarian, Public Services and Distance Learning
  • Cindy Yamaguchi , Online Teaching and Learning Specialist

Web Resources for the Committee

Western Association of Schools and Colleges

UH BOR Policy on Distance Learning

UH Hilo and UH System Plans

UH Hilo and UH System Web Resources in Distance Learning

UH System Policies on DL

Faculty Contract 2015-2017

National Reports and Best Practices Statements