Sociology Faculty and Staff

Marilyn M. Brown
Email Marilyn M. BrownMarilyn M. Brown Phone
Marilyn M. Brown
Professor

Courses: Criminology; Juvenile Delinquency; Gender, Crime, and Justice; Introduction to Sociology; Sociological Theory; Sociology of Deviance

Research: Criminology; reintegration of former prisoners; gender, race/ethnicity and crime; corrections and families; and inequality and criminal justice policy

marilyn@hawaii.edu, (808) 932-7118, UCB room 346
Helen “Yolisa” Y. Duley
Email Helen “Yolisa” Y. DuleyHelen “Yolisa” Y. Duley Phone
Helen “Yolisa” Y. Duley
Assistant Professor
hduley@hawaii.edu, (808) 932-7963, UCB room 344
Timothy C. Hansen
Email Timothy C. HansenTimothy C. Hansen Phone
Timothy C. Hansen
Lecturer, Political Science
thansen7@hawaii.edu, (808) 932-7100, UCB room 343
Lindy Hern
Email Lindy HernLindy Hern Phone
Lindy Hern
Assistant Professor

Courses: Social Research Methods; Family in World Perspective; Politics and Social Movements; Gender and Sexuality in Popular Culture

Research: Social movements, health care reform, social policy, political gender performance

lshern@hawaii.edu, 932-7119, UCB room 347
Marina Karides
Email Marina KaridesMarina Karides Phone
Marina Karides
Chair & Associate Professor

Courses: Island Feminism; Globalization, Fashion, and Gender; Social Stratification; Japan and Global Social Movements; Queer Studies

Research: Island societies and economic development; post-colonialism; race, class, gender, and sexualities; and global justice movements

mkarides@hawaii.edu, (808) 932-7120, UCB room 348
Terri Lum
Email Terri Lum
Terri Lum
Lecturer
Laurie Mengel
Email Laurie Mengel
Laurie Mengel
Lecturer
lauriemm@hawaii.edu, UCB room 342
Alton M. Okinaka
Email Alton M. OkinakaAlton M. Okinaka Phone
Alton M. Okinaka
Associate Professor

Courses: Socialization and Identity, Sociological Theory, Practicum, Internship

Research: Mathematical sociology, social psychology, sociology of education, and race and ethnic relations.

alton@hawaii.edu, 932-7117, UCB room 345