Biology Faculty and Staff

Jonathan “Jon” Awaya
Email Jonathan “Jon” AwayaJonathan “Jon” Awaya Phone
Jonathan “Jon” Awaya
Associate Professor

Research: Elemental cycling and secondary metabolite biosynthesis in environmental microbes.
Courses: Fundamentals of Microbiology, Biology of Microorganisms.
Office Hours: Sp 2017- T/TH 10:45am-12pm, or by appt.

awayaj@hawaii.edu, 932-7180, STB 112

Deborah “Deb” L. Beirne
Email Deborah “Deb” L. BeirneDeborah “Deb” L. Beirne Phone
Deborah “Deb” L. Beirne
Educational Specialist

dscott@hawaii.edu, 932-7505, LS 15A

Jenni K. Guillen
Email Jenni K. GuillenJenni K. Guillen Phone
Jenni K. Guillen
Instructor

Fall 2016 Office hours: Thursdays 12:30-1:45 and by appointment

Research: Biomarkers in cancer cell lines.
Courses: General Biology, Human Anatomy and Physiology, Biostatistics, Immunology.

jenni.guillen@hawaii.edu, 932-7514, LS 9

Patrick J. Hart
Email Patrick J. HartPatrick J. Hart PhonePatrick J. Hart Personal Website
Patrick J. Hart
Chair & Professor

Research: Ecology and conservation of Hawaiian forests and forest birds.
Courses: Biostatistics, General Ecology, Avian Biology, Field Ornithology.

pjhart@hawaii.edu, 932-7182, STB 115

Terre Hawkins
Email Terre HawkinsTerre Hawkins Phone
Terre Hawkins
Lecturer

Courses: Introduction to Biology Lecture and Laboratory, Senior Seminar, History and Conservation of the Hawaiian Islands.

terre@hawaii.edu, 932-7752, LS 6

Matthew “Matt” Knope
Email Matthew “Matt” KnopeMatthew “Matt” Knope PhoneMatthew “Matt” Knope Personal Website
Matthew “Matt” Knope
Assistant Professor

Research: Evolutionary ecology or marine and terrestrial organisms.
Courses: Biostatistics, Natural History of the Hawaiian Islands, Advanced Tropical Island Ecology and Evolution.

knope@hawaii.edu, 932-7715, STB 110

Christine “Chris” A. Kornet
Email Christine “Chris” A. KornetChristine “Chris” A. Kornet Phone
Christine “Chris” A. Kornet
Instructor

Courses: Human Anatomy & Physiology, Zoology.

kornet@hawaii.edu, 932-7572, W 10B

William J. Mautz
Email William J. MautzWilliam J. Mautz PhoneWilliam J. Mautz Personal Website
William J. Mautz
Professor

Research: Environmental physiology, biology of reptiles and amphibians.
Courses: Ecological Physiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology, Intermediate Cell and Molecular Biology.

mautz@hawaii.edu, 932-7511, W 8

Cedric “Cam” C. Muir
Email Cedric “Cam” C. MuirCedric “Cam” C. Muir PhoneCedric “Cam” C. Muir Personal Website
Cedric “Cam” C. Muir
Associate Professor

Research: Agro-ecology, ecological genetics of crop species, food security.
Courses: Introductory Biology, Evolution, Intro to Cell and Molecular Biology, Genetics.

cmuir@hawaii.edu, 932-7500, STB 109

Stan T. Nakanishi
Email Stan T. NakanishiStan T. Nakanishi Phone
Stan T. Nakanishi
Assistant Professor

Research: Investigating the neuromodulatory effects of compounds derived from Native Hawaiian plants.
Courses: Genetics, Intermediate Cell and Molecular Biology.

stn@hawaii.edu, 932-7193, STB 113

Rebecca “Becky” Ostertag
Email Rebecca “Becky” OstertagRebecca “Becky” Ostertag PhoneRebecca “Becky” Ostertag Personal Website
Rebecca “Becky” Ostertag
Professor; Program Chair, M.S. in Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science

Research: Long-term forest dynamics in relation to climate change, nutrient cycling, invasive species, and restoration ecology.
Courses: General Ecology, Advanced Ecology and Evolution, Conservation Biology.

ostertag@hawaii.edu, 932-7573, W 11

Adam A. Pack
Email Adam A. PackAdam A. Pack Phone
Adam A. Pack
Chair & Professor, Psychology

Research: Marine mammal behavior and mating systems, humpback whales, spinner dolphins, animal cognition.
Courses: Marine Mammal Behavior, Animal Cognition.

pack@hawaii.edu, 932-7082, UCB 266

Kristina L. Paxton
Email Kristina L. PaxtonKristina L. Paxton Phone
Kristina L. Paxton
Postdoctoral Researcher, Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science

Research: Movement Ecology, Avian Disease, and Conservation Genetics
Courses: Biostatistics, Introductory Biology, Quantitative Ecology, Conservation Biology and Environmental Science Field and Laboratory Methods

kpaxton@hawaii.edu, (808) 932-7725, LS 8

Jolene T. Sutton
Email Jolene T. SuttonJolene T. Sutton PhoneJolene T. Sutton Personal Website
Jolene T. Sutton
Assistant Professor

Research: Conservation genetics and genomics; Immunogenetics; Genetic pest management
Courses: Genetics; Principles of Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science

jtsutton@hawaii.edu, 932-7183, STB 116

Li Tao
Email Li TaoLi Tao PhoneLi Tao Personal Website
Li Tao
Assistant Professor

Research: Regulation of cell division, with a focus on the use of in vitro biochemistry and in vivo cell biology to understand the mitotic spindle.
Courses: Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Fundamental Microbiology.

ltao2@hawaii.edu, 932-7179, STB 111

Davin Vicente
Email Davin VicenteDavin Vicente Phone
Davin Vicente
Lecturer

Courses: Intermediate Cell and Molecular Biology, Biology of Microorganisms, Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Genetics Laboratories.

davinv@hawaii.edu, 932-7875, LS 4