UH Hilo nursing program holds pinning ceremony for 2024 graduates

The Nursing Class of 2024 includes 28 graduates in the Hilo cohort and nine in the Waiʻanae cohort.  

College of photos from the 2024 BSN Pinning Ceremony.
At top left, the 2024 School of Nursing graduates are seated at the annual Pinning Ceremony on May 10. Two graduates are featured at bottom left and center. At right, recently retired Kay Daub (in green), professor and former director of the nursing school, was honored for her 20 years with the program. (Photos: College of Health and Natural Sciences/UH Hilo)

The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo School of Nursing held a “pinning” ceremony on May 10, 2024, for graduates earning a bachelor of science in nursing. The Nursing Class of 2024 includes UH Hilo students and a cohort of students from Waiʻanae, Oʻahu. There is a longstanding affiliation of the Waiʻanae Coast Comprehensive Health and the UH Hilo School of Nursing.

At the annual Pinning Ceremony, which is a traditional ceremony of induction into the profession of nursing, a pin is presented to the graduate by their significant other, family member or friend, and the director of the program.

This Pinning Ceremony included recognition of Kay Daub, professor and former director of the nursing school, who recently retired after 20 years with the program.

The late Senator Daniel K. Inouye is credited with helping to launch UH Hiloʻs nursing program to improve healthcare in Hawaiʻi. These new graduates will fill primary care service gaps across the state.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Hilo cohort

  • Cristine Anne Afan
  • Ryclan Bernal
  • Blaise Cachola
  • Caedan Cambra
  • Marinel Clemente
  • Jeremie Correa
  • Neve Sherie Enriquez
  • Ashley Jane Escano
  • Avery Ewell
  • Julie Ann Federizo
  • Maile Fox
  • Jessie Hicks
  • Justin Higa
  • Jennifer Johnson
  • Cherise Lodivero
  • Jasmine Gayle Madamba
  • Kaylee Magdaro
  • Alexa (Deming) Manago
  • Nina Kimberly Nabor
  • Kayley Oliveira
  • Emily Peterson
  • Johnvie Rivera
  • Kristine May Ruiz
  • Sabrina Scott
  • Taylor Tolentino
  • Krystal Jane Velasco
  • Lilinoe Wilson
  • Yurise (Martin) Yamaguchi

Waiʻanae cohort

  • Leilani Auld
  • Sienna De Sa
  • Charliemagne Julian
  • Richard Louis-Soares
  • Christina Mateo
  • Kamaile (Joelle) Perreira
  • Tehani Ursua
  • Keli Wong
  • Zoe Young

Share this story