Photos: UH Hilo College of Arts and Sciences 2023 Student Award Convocation Celebration

The College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo held its annual Student Award Convocation Celebration on May 4, 2023.

This year’s award recipients are as follows. (Photos by Cooper Lund, click to enlarge.)

Administration of Justice

Students and faculty stand for AOJ photo.
From left is Professor of Administration of Justice Kathleen Young and award recipients Jake Villa, Caitlyn Peil, and Amaya Hirata. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Scholarships: Amaya Hirata, Tabitha Pacheco, Caitlyn Peil, and Shivanni Stephenson
    • Outstanding Senior: Jake Villa


Anthropology students stand with professors for photo.
From left, Associate Professor of Anthropology Kathy Kawelu, Professor of Anthropology Peter Mills, students Colsen Balai, Sheadon Freitas, Tyler Rabara, and Bethany Okamoto, Assistant Professor of Anthropology Tarisi Vunidilo, Professor of Anthropology Lynn Morrison, and Associate Professor of Anthropology Joe Genz. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Outstanding Student: Colsen Balai
    • Scholarships: Bethany Okamoto, Tyler Rabara, and Sheadon Freitas


Two communication students stand with Prof. Ron Gordon for photo.
From left, student Sheadon Freitas, Professor of Communication Ron Gordon, and student Hunter Bugado. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Maury Zimring Communication Award: Sheadon Freitas
    • Communication Scholarships: Hunter Bugado, Mandi Kawaha-Amar, David Mayser, and Taylor-Ann Stewart


    • Scholarships: Arianna Cochallas, Tiphani Kainoa, Kylee Kubojiri, Ashlynn Shiraishi, and Courtney Yamaguchi


Group of students and faculty from the English department stand in a row for photo.
From left, Professor of English Kirsten Møllegaard, students Amari Ohara, Kyla-Marie Turner, Evangeline Lemieux, Pohakalaokeaolani van Veen, Gianna Posik, and Krystah Jamie Morita, and instructor Susan Wackerbarth. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Matthew Somchai Therrien Memorial Award: Evangeline Lemieux
    • Howard and Yoneko Droste Awards for Outstanding Writing
      • 100-Level Composition Paper: Gianna Posik
      • 200-Level Paper: Krystah Jaime Morita
      • Upper-Division Paper: Kyla-Marie Turner
      • Fiction: Evangeline Lemieux
      • Poetry: Pohokalaokeaolani van Veen
      • Playwriting: Evangeline Lemieux
    • Tuition Scholarship Awards: Alesi Meyers Tuimavave and Amari Ohara

Gender and Women’s Studies

Gender and Womens Studies students stand with professors for photo.
From left, Assistant Professor of English Leanne Day, students Pohakalaokeaolani van Veen and Haley Williams, Professor of Philosophy Celia Bardwell Jones, and Professor of Anthropology Lynn Morrison. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Best Research Paper
      • 1st Place: Haley Williams
      • 2nd Place: Pohakalaokeolani van Veen
    • Yoko Okita Award: Haley Williams

Geography and Environmental Science

Kathryn Besio, Frankie Emig, Nanea Cruz, and Chris Knudson stand for photo.
From left, Professor of Geography and Environmental Sciences Kathryn Besio, students Frankie Emig and Nanea Cruz, and Assistant Professor of Geography Chris Knudson. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Juvik Award Geography: Nanea Cruz
    • Juvik Award Environmental Science: Frankie Emig


History students and their professors stand together for photo.
Front row from left, students Saedie Wakida and David Freund. Back row, students Nolan Dickhausen, Mason Selley, Ewalea Dameg, Jaydee Ah Sing, and Kepa Revelle-Aikala, and Professor of History Jeff Smith. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Scholarships: Jaydee Ah Sing, Ewalea Dameg, Vayas Hale, Mason Selley, Nolan Dickhausen, Arjun Thompson, and Saedie Wakida
    • Outstanding History Student Writing Award: Joseph Kahelemeakua Revelle-Aikala
    • Okihiro & Henriquez Award for significant community contributions toward Hawaiian history and culture: Makanoe Hufana and David Freund

Performing Arts

Performing Arts students gather together for photo with their professors.
Front row from left, students Andre Reneau, Christopher Kocian, and Dane Dupre, lecturer Rachel Edwards, and theater technician Apollo Harris. Back row from left, lecturer Annie Bunker, Associate Professor Justina Mattos, students Leah Evensen, Stefani Pelletier, Savannah Christensen, and Lucky Lemieux, theater manager Lee Dombroski, lecturer Kea Kapahua, and theater technician Ariana Bassett. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Dean’s Scholarship: Lucky Lemieux, Savannah Christensen, and Ren Pollock
    • Performing Arts Center Scholarship: Dane Dupre and Savannah Christensen
    • Hawai’i Concert Society Scholarship: Chris Kocian (Music) and Andre Reneau (Dance)
    • Performing Arts Legacy Awards:
      • Stefani Pelletier (Academic Excellence)
      • Savannah Christensen (Service to the Department)
      • Tori Matsumoto (Technical Theatre)
      • Christopher Kocian (Artistic Excellence in Music)
      • Leah Evensen (Artistic Excellence in Dance)
      • Dane Dupre (Artistic Excellence in Drama)
      • Daniel Morales (Competitive Award)”


    • First Place in the Philosophy Essay Contest: Dustin Smith
    • Second Place in the Philosophy Essay Contest: Jomo James
    • Outstanding Philosophy Student Prize: Joseph Rouse

Political Science

Four political science students stand for photo.
From left, students Kahinu Hayashida, Riana Jicha, Amaya Hirata, and Cole Crays. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • The Titunik Distinguished Research Paper Award: Cole Crays
    • The Castberg Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior: Riana Jicha
    • Willard D. Keim Memorial Scholarship: Amaya Hirata
    • CAS Tuition-based Financial Assistance Scholarship: Darrell Silva, Bailey Artienda, and Kahinu Hayashida


Group of psychology students and faculty stand for photo.
From left, Professor of Psychology Adam Pack, Kailey Oki, Mekaila Ihilani Pasco, Jaeda Ventura, Alyssa Le, Krystah Jamie Morita, and Associate Professor of Psychology Alexander Nagurney. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Psychology Department Outstanding Senior Award: Mekaila Pasco
    • College of Arts and Sciences Scholarships: Alyssa Le, Krystah Jamie Morita, Jaeda Ventura, Kailey Oki, and Kelly Black


Sociology students stand with professors for photo.
Front row from left, students Adelie del Rosario, Keana Musrasrik, and Silvia Robinson. Back row from left, Associate Professor of Sociology Alton Okinaka, students Shaena Jardine, Carys Potter, Kuumomimakamae Marquez, and Kit Neikirk, Associate Professor of Sociology Lindy Hern, and Assistant Professor of Sociology Ellen Meiser. (Cooper Lund/UH Hilo Stories)
    • Excellence in Sociology Award: Kit Neikirk
    • Rising Star in Sociology Award: Adelie Del Rosario
    • Exemplar of Sociological Research Award:
      • Josephine Mischon
      • Keana (Emiso) Musrasrik
      • Carys Potter
      • Shaena Jardine
    • Scholarships: Kuumomimakamae Marquez, Silvia Robinson, Tysha Vesperas Saniatan, and Adelie del Rosario

Photographer Cooper Lund is a marine science major.

Share this story