UH Hilo students receive awards for their outstanding leadership on campus

Based on native Hawaiian cultural values, the annual Ka Lama Ku awards recognize the exceptional contributions the honorees make as student leaders on campus.

Ka Lama KūUniversity of Hawaiʻi at Hilo’s Ka Lama Ku Student Leadership Development Program held its annual award ceremony on April 21, 2023.

Based on Native Hawaiian cultural values, the program’s Ka Lama Ku Awards recognize contributions students have made in their formal and informal leadership roles on campus and acknowledge those individuals who show strong evidence of future leadership potential.

Each year, a committee of UH Hilo students reviews the nominations for Ka Lama Ku Award recipients and selects the awardees.

“It was such a delight to see the energy and creativity honored in our student leaders,” says UH Hilo Chancellor Bonnie Irwin, who attended the event. “In addition to gaining valuable experience in leading these initiatives for the campus, it was clear that the students had also become good friends through working collaboratively on shared goals.”

The following students and groups are the 2023 Ka Lama Ku Award recipients.

Individual Awards

      • Alakaʻi Award: Leadership – Haley Williams (not present at award ceremony)
      • Kuleana Award: Accountable and Responsible – Carley Atkins
      • Mālama Award: Taking Care of Others and Community – Lillian Lewis
      • ʻIke Pāpālua Award: To Have the Gift of Vision – Mekaila Pasco
      • Laulima Award: No Task is Too Big When Done By All – Russell-Jearuss Ronolo

Group Awards

Alakaʻi Group Award: Leadership

Group photo of the First Year Experience team, the person who nominated the group, and Chancellor Irwin.
The First Year Experience team won the Alakaʻi Group Award. Front row from left, Chris Wung (nominator), Makanoe Hufana, Mekaila Pasco, and Chancellor Bonnie Irwin. Back row from left, Clare Aragon, Michelle Bond, Calyx Badon, Natasha Figueroa, Carley Atkins, Lillian Lewis, and Russell-Jearuss Ronolo. (Courtesy photo)
    • First Year Experience
      • Clare Aragon
      • Carley Atkins
      • Calyx Badon
      • Michelle Bond
      • Natasha Figueroa
      • Makanoe Hufana
      • Lillian Lewis
      • Mekaila Pasco
      • Russell Ronolo

ʻIke Pāpālua Group Award: To Have the Gift of Vision

Ka Pouhana Mentoring Program team and Chancellor Bonnie Irwin stand for photo with the Ka Lama Ku logo and signage on the right.
Ka Pouhana Mentoring Program team won the ʻIke Pāpālua Award. From left are three guests (names not known), and then awardees Trevondrick Francis, Mekaila Pasco, Ayzlynne-Kalia Fishman-DeVera, and Kit Neikirk. At far right is Chancellor Bonnie Irwin. Not present are awardees Mahina Hanakeawe, Tuʻupuamalamakahonua Helekahi, Tiffani Napihaʻa, Coral Richardson, Elena-Marie “Lehua” Waianuhea, and Catherine Cornella. (Courtesy photo)
    • Ka Pouhana Mentoring Program
      • Catherine Cornella
      • Ayzlynne-Kalia Fishman-DeVera
      • Trevondrick Francis
      • Mahina Hanakeawe
      • Tu‘upuamalamakahonua Helekahi
      • Tiffani Napiha‘a
      • Kit Neikirk
      • Mekaila Pasco
      • Coral Richardson
      • Elena-Marie “Lehua” Waianuhea

Laulima Group Award: No Task is Too Big When Done By All

Four members of the Psi Chi Psychology Honors Society Club with Professor Adam Pack and Chancellor Bonnie Irwin, stand for photo. At right is the logo and signage of the Ka Lama Ku program.
UH Hilo’s Psi Chi Psychology Honors Society Club won the ʻIke Pāpālua Award. From left, Professor of Psychology Adam Pack (nominator), Makani Walker, Aurelia Castagnetti, Mekaila Pasco, Peighten Kapper, and Chancellor Bonnie Irwin. (Courtesy photo)

Share this story