UH Hilo announces 2022-23 Chancellor’s Scholarship recipients

Each of the 17 scholars, from high schools throughout the state, will receive in excess of $29,376 covering four years tuition.

Red seal: UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII AT HILO UA MAU KE IEA O KA AINA I KA PONO. At the center: MALAMALAMA and graphic of a flame and book.Seventeen students from public and private high schools throughout the state of Hawai‘i have been awarded the prestigious 2022-23 Chancellor’s Scholarship by the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo.

Recipients and their high schools are:

      • Jaydee Ah Sing, Waiākea High School
      • Nai‘a Balancio, Konawaena High School
      • Anaheim-Joy Brown, Kamehameha-Hawai‘i Campus
      • Zachary Bulcao-Moore, King Kekaulike High School
      • Mikayla Carter, Makua Lani Christian Academy
      • Shayne Dagupion, Kealakehe High School
      • Samson David, Myron B. Thompson Academy
      • Kealohilani Grace, Kamehameha-Hawai‘i Campus
      • Xander Grouns, Waiākea High School
      • Kadden Kobayashi, Kaua‘i High School
      • Roanne Mendoza, Kea‘au High School
      • Maureen Moreno, Kea‘au High School
      • Teiya Myers, Kailua High School
      • Princess Jona Natania Respicio, Honoka‘a High and Intermediate School
      • Sydney Shiroma, Sacred Hearts Academy
      • Ryo Soranaka, Aiea High School
      • Timothy Wiley, Kapolei High School

The award, valued in excess of $29,376, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawai‘i high school who earned a grade point average of at least 3.5 or higher while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

All Chancellor Scholarship recipients are required to enroll as full-time students and earn a minimum of 30 credits each academic year. They must also maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and or community services with other Chancellor Scholars.

Media release