UH Hilo community welcomes new faculty and staff to campus

UH Hilo welcomes new faculty and staff at the 2015 Chancellor’s Fall Welcome.

Three new faculty stand with Matt Platz for photo.
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Matthew Platz stands with three new members of his staff (l-r): Kelli Okumura, Institutional Research Analyst; Shelby Wong, Curriculum and Catalog Coordinator; and Kim Hayashida, Budget Analyst. Courtesy photo.

New faculty and staff were welcomed to the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo campus at the Chancellor’s Fall Welcome event on Sept. 10.

“Today we are pleased to introduce newcomers to UH Hilo,” said Chancellor Don Staney at the event. “I am very pleased with the caliber and professionalism of our new faculty and staff. Mahalo to our search committees for a job well done.”


  • Patrick Guillen, Director of Athletics
  • Lisa Hadway, Director of Conference Center
  • Office of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action
    • Jennifer Stotter, Director of the Office of Equal Employment and Affirmative Action.
    • Libby Bailey, Institutional Support, Office of Equal Employment and Affirmative Action


Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

  • Kim Hayashida, Budget Analyst
  • Kelli Okumura, Institutional Research Analyst
  • Shelby Wong, Curriculum and Catalog Coordinator

College of Agriculture, Forestry, and Natural Resource Managemnet

  • Stephan Classen, Academic Support, Pacific Aquaculture and Coastal Resource Center
  • Koddie-Jaymes Purdy-Ka‘ai, Building & Grounds Custodian, Pacific Aquaculture and Coastal Resource Center

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Humanities
    • Zheng An, Assistant Professor, Communication
  • Natural Sciences
    • Krystal Carles, Office Assistant
    • Matthew Connelly, Educational Specialist, Marine Science
    • Francis Cristobal, Information Technology Specialist, Computer Science
    • Stephen Kennedy, Boating Program Coordinator, Marine Science
    • Stan Nakanishi, Assistant Professor, Biology
    • Brandi Paulo, Office Assistant
  • Social Sciences
    • Jodie Leslie, Instructor, Kinesiology & Exercise Sciences
    • Tobias Irish, Assistant Professor, Education
    • Holly Manaseri, Assistant Professor, Education

School of Nursing

  • Jeanette Ayers-Kawakami, Assistant Professor
  • Hazel Reece, Junior Specialist, Laboratory Coordinator
  • Tracy Thornett, Assistant Professor
  • Diane Van Hoose, Assistant Professor
  • Joylynn Williams, Academic Support

College of Continuing Education and Community Service

  • Chatney Graham, Budget Analyst
  • Shaylynn Hara, Office Assistant
  • Mark Kimura, Credit Program Coordinator
  • Marisa Miyashiro, Health Care Program Coordinator
  • Chris Nishioka, Professional Development Program Coordinator
  • Christopher Kidani, Building & Grounds Utility Worker, NHERC
  • Thomas Parel, Jr., Building & Grounds Custodian, NHERC

Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy

  • Blaine Bautista, Information Technology Specialist
  • Michelle Kim, Junior Specialist, Pharmacy Practice
  • Ingo Koomoa-Lange, Instructor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Elizabeth Lee, Junior Specialist, Pharm2Pharm
  • Camlyn Masuda, Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • Steven Nishimoto, Junior Specialist, Pharm2Pharm
  • Sean O’Neill, Instructional and Student Support
  • Justin Reinicke, Junior Specialist, Research
  • Allen Shih, Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • Judith Steinman, Instructor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Wesley Sumida, Associate Specialist, Pharmacy Practice

Ka Haka Ula O Ke‘elikōlani College of Hawaiian Language

  • Anuhea Simmons, Academic Support

Kilohana Learning Center

  • Lindsay Heller, Natural Science Coordinator


  • Dana-Lee Cabatic, Library Assistant

Office of Campus Technology

  • Matthew Baldwin, Media & Design Production Specialist
  • Anthony Liu, Information Technology Specialist.


  • Rusty Demotta, Groundskeeper
  • Lloyd Ganoot, Janitor
  • Jonathan Tehero, Janitor
  • William Walters, Auxiliary and Facilities Services Officer
  • Nina Ann Tanabe, Manager, Hawai‘i Innovation Center at Hilo


  • Yoshihiro “William” Karino, Interim Mental Health Counselor
  • Emily Low, Mental Health Counselor
  • Jody Adviento-Turner, Financial Aid, Instructional & Student Support
  • Huihui Kanahele-Mossman, Kīpuka Native Hawaiian Student Center, Associate Director
  • Catherine Evans-Bautista, Nā Pua No‘eau, Academic Support
  • John Villiarimo, Nā Pua No‘eau
  • Shara Mahoe, Student Activities, Coordinator/Advisor
  • Shayna Fuerte, Upward Bound Program Coordinator (Rural East)


  • Esben Borsting, Deputy Director
  • Jason Cadaoas, Building & Groundskeeper