UH Hilo 2015 Chancellor’s Scholarships awarded to 13 Hawai‘i high school graduates

The award, valued in excess of $26,500, covers four years of tuition.

Hilo seal, RED: UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII, UA MAU KE EA O KA AINA I KA PONO. With graphic of flame and book at center.Thirteen Hawai‘i high school graduates are recipients of the Chancellor’s Scholarship from the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo. The incoming freshman come from high schools located on the islands of Hawai‘i, Kaua‘i, Maui and O‘ahu.

The award, valued in excess of $26,500, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawai‘i high school who earned either a grade point average of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math) or a composite score of 27 on the ACT while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

“We’re very pleased these outstanding students from around the state will be attending UH Hilo,” says Chancellor Donald Straney.

All Chancellor’s Scholars are required to enroll as full-time students and earn a minimum of 24 credits each academic year. They must also maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership and community service activities with other Chancellor’s Scholars.

The 2015 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools:

  • Nicole Antonio, Waiakea High
  • Harley Broyles, Waimea High
  • Pomaika‘i Cathcart, Kamehameha Schools-Maui Campus
  • Jasmine Curiel, Hanalani Schools
  • Jon Ehrenberg, West Hawai‘i Explorations Academy
  • Sarah Ferguson, Leilehua High
  • Trent Furuta, Mililani High
  • Courtney Ip, Waiakea High
  • Cody Kojima, Waiakea High
  • Kaydee Rapozo, Waiakea High
  • Melia Takakusagi, Waimea High
  • Brandon Tomota, Waiakea High
  • Amirah Waite, Roosevelt High