Center for Community Engagement (CCE) Non-Credit Classes

American Sign Language, Level 1a

This class has concluded. Please let us know if you’d like to see it offered again.

With Vicki Linter.

This class will introduce the basics of American Sign Language (ASL), including grammar and vocabulary for simple social conversation. Participants will also learn about deaf culture and rules of social interaction. Open to ages 15 and up.


Required: Signing Naturally Student Workbook with DVD, Level 1, Units 1-6, copyright 2008.

Dates:
  1. Tue, Feb 19, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  2. Tue, Feb 26, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  3. Tue, Mar 5, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  4. Tue, Mar 12, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  5. Tue, Apr 2, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  6. Tue, Apr 9, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  7. Tue, Apr 16, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  8. Tue, Apr 23, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  9. Tue, Apr 30, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
  10. Tue, May 7, 2019 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, W-14
Cost:
$150.00
Class Code:
191F6111
Tags:
Language & Culture

This class has concluded. Please let us know if you’d like to see it offered again.

Meet your Instructor

Vicki LinterVicki Linter is a hearing instructor and learned ASL at Los Angeles, Pierce College. She was an ASL interpreter for 25 years and has taught ASL in community settings in California and in Hawaiʻi.