Center for Community Engagement (CCE)

Japanese Conversation, Beginners Level 3

This class has concluded. Please let us know if you’d like to see it offered again.

With Hiroko Igarashi.

This class will focus on progressing students’ practical Japanese language skills and learning important cultural issues for effective communication. Students joining this class must be familiar with hiragana and basic grammar. Lessons are moderately paced and will focus on simple conversational skills, such as how to ask and describe where things are, to talk about habitual actions, and to talk about things in the past. Also, students will begin to learn basic kanji. Homework is assigned at each class to maximize learning and progress.

Required: Genki 1 textbook and workbook, 3rd edition

Dates:
  1. Thu, Sep 21, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  2. Thu, Sep 28, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  3. Thu, Oct 5, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  4. Thu, Oct 12, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  5. Thu, Oct 19, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  6. Thu, Oct 26, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  7. Thu, Nov 2, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  8. Thu, Nov 9, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  9. Thu, Nov 16, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  10. Thu, Nov 30, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  11. Thu, Dec 7, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
  12. Thu, Dec 14, 2023 @ 5:00pm-6:30pm, at UH Hilo Campus, CH-6
Cost:
$ 180.00
Class Code:
233C6003
Tags:
Language & Culture

This class has concluded. Please let us know if you’d like to see it offered again.

Meet your Instructor

Hiroko IgarashiInstructor Hiroko Igarashi has a BS in Mathematics, BA in Communications and MA in China-US Relations. She has many years of experience teaching Japanese to children and adults in the community, and as a UH Hilo Lecturer. Her classes are practical, fun and interactive, helping students to get the most out of every session.