Board of Regents and Administration

This is the 2019-2020 UH Hilo catalog, previous year catalogs can be viewed on the Back Issues page.

University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents

(Updated: April 2019)

Lee Putnam, Honolulu County, Chair

  • Jeffrey Portnoy, Honolulu County, Vice Chair
  • Wayne Higaki, Hawaiʻi County, Vice Chair
  • Stanford Yuen, Honolulu County
  • Michael McEnerney, Honolulu County
  • Ernest Wilson, Maui County
  • Kelli K.K. Acopan, Student Regent
  • Jan Naoe Sullivan, Honolulu County
  • Michele Tagorda, Honolulu County
  • Simeon Acoba, Honolulu County
  • Benjamin Asa Kudo, At-Large
  • Robert Frank Westerman, Kauaʻi County
  • Eugene Bal III, Maui County
  • Randolph G. Moore, At-Large
  • Alapaki Nahale-a, Hawaiʻi County

More information on the Board of Regents can be found on the Board of Regents and Leadership website.

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Administration

Dr. Bonnie Irwin
A.B. 1981, M.A. 1983, Ph.D. 1991, University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Kenneth Hon
Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Professor of Geology/Volcanology
B.S., Ph.D. University of Colorado
Dr. Farrah-Marie Gomes
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
B.A. 1998, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
M.S. 2000, Chaminade University
Ph.D. 2016, University of Nebraska- Lincoln
Kaleihiʻiikapoli P. “Kalei” Rapoza
Interim Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs
Alyson Y. “Aly” Kakugawa-Leong
Interim Director of University Relations and Director of Media Relations
Julie Mowrer
Acting Director of the Center for Community Engagement
Mr. Joseph Sanchez
Library Director
B.A., California State University San Marcos
M.L.I.S., San Jose State University
Dr. Emmeline de Pillis
Interim Dean, College of Business and Economics
Professor of Management
B.A. 1984, Ph.D. 1998, University of Southern California
Dr. Michael Bitter
Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Professor of History
B.A. 1988, Ph.D. 1999, University of Minnesota
Dr. Carolyn Ma
Dean, College of Pharmacy
Pharm.D. 1986, University of California at San Francisco
Dr. Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa
Director, Ka Haka ʻUla O Keʻelikōlani College of Hawaiian Language
Associate Professor of Indigenous Education and Teacher Preparation
B.A. 1978, M.Ed. 1985, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Ph.D. 2012, Union Institute and University
Dr. Bruce Mathews
Dean, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resource Management
Professor of Soil Science
B.S. 1986, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
M.S. 1989, Louisiana State University
Ph.D. 1992, University of Florida
Dr. James P. “Jim” Beets
Interim Dean, College of Natural and Health Sciences
B.A. 1974, M.S. 1979, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Ph.D. 1990, University of Georgia