Skip to content →

2019-2020 Chancellor’s Scholarship recipients named

The competitive award, valued in excess of $29,300, covers four years of tuition for selected students graduating from a Hawai‘i high school.

UH Hilo seal, red lettering University of Hawaii and the state motto.Eleven students from Hawai‘i public and private high schools have been awarded the prestigious 2019-2020 Chancellor’s Scholarship at the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.


  • Sabina Boo-Riversa, Kea‘au High School
  • Kawailehua Burnz, Kapa‘a High School
  • Nancy Costales, Christian Liberty Academy
  • Taylor Eleola, Hawai‘i Baptist Academy
  • Bree Foster, Kamehameha – Hawai‘i Campus
  • David Freund, Kea‘au High School
  • Joshua Irwin, Waiakea High School
  • Kit Neikirk, Connections Public Charter School
  • Nicole Otsuka, Maui High School
  • Ashley Rynkewicz, Waiakea High School
  • Jaedyn Pavao, Kamehameha – Kapalama Campus


The award, valued in excess of $29,300, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawai‘i high school who earned either a grade point average of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math), or a composite score of 27 on the ACT while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

Recipients are are required to enroll as full-time students and earn a minimum of 24 credits each academic year. They must also maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and/or community service with other chancellor’s scholars.

Media release

Published in All Posts Announcements