Skip to content →

Interim Chancellor hosts 2018 Fall Gathering: UH Hilo faculty honored for tenure and promotion, new faculty and staff welcomed

Group of faculty with chancellor: Kirsten Møllegaard, Sarah Marusik, Marina Karides, Charmaine Higa-McMillan, Faith Mishina. and Marcia Sakai.
Some of the faculty honored for promotion at the 2018 Fall Gathering stand for photo with Interim Chancellor Marcia Sakai (at far right). From left to right: Kirsten Møllegaard, Sarah Marusik, Marina Karides, Charmaine Higa-McMillan, Faith Mishina. Photo by Raiatea Arcuri.

Faculty recently awarded tenure and promotion were recognized at the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo Interim Chancellor’s 2018 Fall Gathering event on Sept. 28.

“The awarding of tenure and promotion is the university’s recognition of excellence in teaching, scholarship and service,” notes Interim Chancellor Marcia Sakai. “We honor and congratulate these faculty members on their achievements.”

Newcomers to UH Hilo in staff and faculty positions were also introduced at the event.


The following faculty have been awarded TENURE AND PROMOTION:

  •  Joseph Genz, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  •  Comfort Sumida, Assistant Specialist

The following faculty have been awarded TENURE:

  • Kurt Dela Kruz, Jr. Specialist
  • Jonathan Goebel, Associate Professor of Art
  • Mary Louise Haraguchi, Librarian III
  • Faith Mishina, Associate Professor of Language
  • Ryan Perroy, Associate Professor of Geography

The following faculty have been awarded PROMOTION:

  • Jonathan Awaya, Professor of Biology
  • Kathy Cooksey, Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Mazen Hamad, Professor of Chemistry
  • Charmaine Higa-McMillan, Professor of Psychology
  • Marina Karides, Professor of Sociology
  • Sarah Marusek, Professor of Political Science
  • Faith Mishina, Professor of Language
  • Kirsten Møllegaard, Professor of English
  • Misty Pacheco, Associate Professor of Kinesiology and Exercise Science
  • Marianne Takamiya, Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Jin Yin, Professor of Communication

The following faculty have been awarded DELEGATED PROMOTION:

  • Reyna Morel, Assistant Professor of Communication
  • Justin Reinicke, Assistant Specialist


Standing group.
A group of newcomers to UH Hilo are honored at the 2018 Fall Gathering hosted by Interim Chancellor Sakai. Photo by Raiatea Arcuri.

The following are new members of the UH Hilo ‘Ohana:

Administrative Affairs

  • Kumalani Borling, Security Guard
  • Clint Collins, Unit Diving Coordinator
  • Cory Kaizuka, Project Manager
  • Garrick Tamashiro, Security Guard
  • Kyle Tsuda


  •  Melanie Marciel, Academic Advisor

College of Agriculture, Forestry, and Natural Resource Management

  • Britton Clark Cole, Farm Manager
  • Sharadchandra Marahatta, Assistant Professor
  • Lissa Tsutsumi, Instructor
  • Cheryl Yara, Farm Technician

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Helen Duley, Instructor of Sociology
  • Patsy Iwasaki, Lecturer of Communication and English
  • Michael Skinner, Instructor of History

College of Business and Economics

  • James Czarski, Instructor of Economics
  • Andrey Simonov, Assistant Professor of Accounting
  • Erin Swain, Administrative Services Officer
  • Heng Tien, Instructor of Marketing and Management and Career Development Coordinator

College of Natural and Health Sciences

  • John Burns, Assistant Professor of Marine Science
  • Joel Kaufmann, Instructor of Biology
  • Daniel O’Conner, Instructor of Physics and Astronomy

College of Pharmacy

  • Jeryd Teramoto, IT Specialist


  • Joseph Sanchez, Library Director

North Hawai‘i Education and Research Center

  • Kei-Lin Cerf, Director

Student Affairs

  • Michelle Cooper, Admissions Counselor
  • Shayna Fuerte, Academic Advisor and Counselor

Published in All Posts Community Gatherings