Alliance Contacts

University of Hawaiʻi Hilo Staff

Name Position Contact Information
Dr. Bonnie D. Irwin Principal Investigator
Dr. Joseph H. Genz Project Director
Dr. Mārata Tamaira Project Manager

IOA-LSAMP Governing Board

The Governing Board is composed of the Presidents/Chancellors of all partner institutions in the IOA-LSAMP alliance. The purpose of the board is to provide global perspective, direction, and assistance in broadening the base of support for the implementation and sustainability of LSAMP activities.

Name Institution
Bonnie D. Irwin , Chancellor University of Hawai‘i at Hilo
Patrick Tellei, President Palau Community College
Irene Taafaki, President College of the Marshall Islands
Thomas Krise, President University Of Guam
David Lassner, President University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Rosevonne Pato, President American Samoa Community College
Lance Askildson, Provost Chaminade University
Karen Simion, Interim President College of Micronesia—FSM
Mary Okada, President Guam Community College
Jennifer Walsh, Provost Hawaii Pacific University
Frankie Eliptico, Interim President Northern Marianas College |

The Pacific Postsecondary Education Council (PPEC)

The PPEC is comprised of administrative leadership from various IOA partners and serves as a key regional advisory role for the IOA. The PPEC provides institutional updates relevant to the implementation of IOA activities and serves as an administrative contact for IOA activities. The PPEC updates the IOA on regional initiatives that leverage and support the IOA’s mission across the alliance and within partner institutions. The PPEC gives IOA the ability to catalyze and influence regional and systemic initiatives and to remain engaged in regional STEM education dialogues. The PPEC is comprised of the following member institutions:

Name Institution
Mary Okada, PPEC President Guam Community College
Bonnie Irwin University of Hawai‘i at Hilo
Patrick Tellei Palau Community College
Irene Taafaki College of the Marshall Islands
Thomas Krise University Of Guam
Rosevonne Pato American Samoa Community College
Karen Simion College of Micronesia—FSM
Frankie Eliptico Northern Marianas College
Louise Pagotto Kapiolani Community College
Erika Lacro Honolulu Community College
Rachel Solemsaas Hawaii Community College

IOA-LSAMP External Advisory Board (EAB)

The External Advisory Board is comprised of external experts in STEM education research, IOA-LSAMP best practices, and Pacific cultural approaches to STEM.

Name Institution
Saba Ali, Associate Dean of Research University of Iowa
Koh Ming Wei, Ecoliteracy Senior Specialist Pacific Resources for Education and Learning
Kālepa Baybayan, Navigator-in-Residence ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center
David Ueda, President MU-BI Micronesians United, Big Island (MU-BI)

IOA-LSAMP Campus Coordinators

Name Campus Contact Information
Randel De Wees American Samoa Community College
Chrystie Naeole Chaminade University
Peltin Olter-Pelep College of Micronesia-FSM
Hatty Kabua College of the Marshall Islands
Anthony Jay Sunga Guam Community College
Tara Davis Hawaii Pacific University
Velma Deleon Guerrero Northern Marianas College
Vernice Yuzi Palau Community College
Kristina Sayama University of Guam
Kelli Ching UH Mānoa