Islands of Opportunity Alliance—LSAMP

The world of Oceania is not small; it is huge and growing bigger every day. Epeli Hau‘ofa, "Our Sea of Islands."

He pūkoʻa kani ʻāina. A coral reef strengthens and grows into land. 'Ōlelo noʻeau.

In Memoriam

IOA-LSAMP mourns the loss of its esteemed external advisory committee member, Chad Kālepa Baybayan.

Uncle Kālepa served as a valued member of the external advisory committee beginning in 2018 when he gave a riveting keynote presentation during the grant kickoff meeting held at UH Hilo. His words were profound and inspiring. Beyond his work with the program, he was a celebrated Kanaka Maoli navigator who crewed and captained the Hawaiian voyaging vessel Hōkūle‘a. He was also an educator and a champion of cultivating and promoting Hawaiian language and culture in the Islands. The loss of Uncle Kālepa is immense and will be felt deeply for a very long time. Our hearts go out to his family and loved ones.

To learn more about this incredible human being, please follow the link to the website for the ʻImiloa Astronomy Center where he served as Navigator-in-Residence.

The National Science Foundation's Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation Program

The National Science Foundation's (NSF) Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program was mandated by Congress in 1991 and was designed to facilitate historically underrepresented students pursuing baccelaureate and graduate degrees in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). Today, there are 40 LSAMP Alliances across the United States with more than 500 participating institutions throughout the country. The Islands of Opportunity–LSAMP (IOA–LSAMP) represents the only LSAMP Alliance serving the entire US-affiliated Pacific region.IOA Logo
IOA-LSAMP is committed to increasing the number of underrepresented minority students—especially students of Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander ancestry—graduating with two- and four-year degrees in STEM disciplines. The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo serves as the lead institution in an Alliance that comprises 10 partner institutions across the Pacific, including: American Samoa Community College, College of the Marshall Islands, College of Micronesia—FSM, Chaminade University of Honolulu, Guam Community College, Hawaiʻi Pacific University, Northern Marianas College, Palau Community College, University of Guam, and University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.

Student Eligibility

  • Be an underrepresented racial/ethnic minority as defined by NSF: Native Hawaiian, Pacific Islander, African American, American Indian, Alaskan Native;
  • Be a US citizen or permanent resident of the US or its possessions;
  • Be enrolled in an undergraduate major in a STEM discipline.

Women's History Month: Pacific Islander Women in Science

Each year March 1 to March 31 marks Women's History Month. IOA-LSAMP proudly celebrates the achievements of our Pacific Islander wāhine who are carving out their own place in STEM. This year, we highlight Hōkūleʻa navigator, Kaʻiulani Murphy.

IOA Headlines

Inaugural IOA Data Camp

In October 2020 IOA-LSAMP and Chaminade University launched an IOA-wide online data analytics proficiency course. IOA students from Hawai‘i and the broader Pacific participated. The Data Camp was designed to introduce students to data analytics and to start the process of upskilling or reskilling participants through a set of curated hands-on, mentored learning modules. For more on this exciting story, go to "Inaugural online DataCamp launches first Pacific-wide STEM learning community"

Extended Deadline: 2021 Virtual Summer Data Science Institute

Applications are now open for the 1-month summer immersion program through Chaminade University's SPICE grant (Supporting Pacific Indigenous Computing Excellence).

Successful candidates will receive a stipend of $6,500 and will work with world-class faculty, scientists, and researchers from Chaminade University and the Texas Advanced Computing Center to develop skills in data science, analytics, and visualization. Students will earn a certificate on completion of the program.

Who can apply?
Undergraduates from Hawaiʻi and the Pacific (all majors are eligible, non-computing majors are encouraged to apply)

Program timeline
May 24 to June 18, 2021 9AM to 3PM weekdays

Please direct questions to Janine Kurosawa at email

Application deadline is extended to April 2. Apply online at: