Psychology home page
  Department of Psychology
University of Hawaii at Hilo 
UHH home page










Psychology Faculty








Full-time faculty
Name, title, position Access information Current semester courses Current research
Susan G. Brown, Ph.D.
Professor
Interim Dean, CAS
Office: UCB 304
Phone: (808) 932-7095
E-mail: susanb@hawaii.edu
None.
Animal behavior. Women's health. Evolutionary psychology.
B. Christopher Frueh, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: UCB 260
Phone: (808) 932-7107
E-mail:
frueh@hawaii.edu
Undergraduate: Survey of Psychology, Psychology of Personality, Clinical Psychology.

Mental health services, cognitive behavioral therapy, posttraumatic stress disorder, telemedicine, mental health economics and public policy, racial disparities

Steve Herman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: UCB 269
Phone: (808) 932-7085
E-mail: hermans@hawaii.edu
Website: http://steveherman.com
Graduate: Counseling Skills, Group Work and Counseling.
Undergraduate: Child Abuse and Neglect.
Forensic child sexual abuse evaluations.
Eric Heuer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: UCB 261
Phone: (808) 932-7077
E-mail: eheuer@hawaii.edu
Undergraduate: Survey of Psychology, Research Methods, Cognotove psychology, Physiological Psychology. Aging, Alzheimer's disease and age-related alterations in cognitive function
Charmaine K. Higa-McMillan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: UCB 271
Phone:
(808) 933-3166
E-mail: higac@hawaii.edu
Website: hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/mcmillan/
Graduate: CBT for children and families.
Undergraduate: Abnormal Psychology.

Internalizing developmental psychopathology. Child and adolescent assessment and evidence-based treatments for youth. Dissemination and implementation of evidence-based treatments. Youth mental health services
Bryan S. K. Kim, Ph.D.
Professor
Director of Master's Program in Counseling Psychology

Office: UCB 273
Phone: (808) 932-7090
E-mail: bryankim@hawaii.edu
Website:
www2.hawaii.edu/~bryankim/
Graduate: Internship.
Multicultural counseling psychology, instrument development, Asian American psychology, acculturation and enculturation
Sunyoung Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
On sabbatical
Office: UCB 268
Phone:
(808) 932-7084
E-mail: sk47@hawaii.edu
None.
Anxiety disorders, Trauma and PTSD, Cross-cultrual approach, Minority and gender issues in clinical psychology
Alexander Nagurney, Ph.D.
Instructor
Office:  UCB 263
Phone:
(808) 932-7079
E-mail: nagurney@hawaii.edu
Undergraduate:  Statistics, Research Methods, Social Psychology.

Adam A. Pack, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair

Office: UCB 266
Phone: (808) 932-7082
E-mail: pack@hawaii.edu
Website: www.dolphin-institute.org
Undergraduate: Learning and Motivation.
Dolphin sensory perception, cognition, and communication.  Behavior, communication, and biology of humpback whales and other marine mammals. 
Cheryl M. Ramos, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: UCB 259
Phone: (808) 932-7075
E-mail: ramos@hawaii.edu
Undergraduate: Industrial and Organizational  Psychology, Practicum.
Well-being of cancer survivors
Vladimir B. Skorikov, Ph.D.
Professor
On sabbatical
Office: UCB 270
Phone: (808) 932-7087
E-mail: skorikov@hawaii.edu.
Website: www2.hawaii.edu/~skorikov/
None. Career development, identity and mental health during the transition to adulthood.
Errol Yudko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: UCB 267
Phone: (808) 932-7083
E-mail: errol@hawaii.edu.
Website: www2.hawaii.edu/~errol/
Undergraduate: Statistics, Biopsychology, Science of Sex.
Drug abuse
Affiliate Faculty
Name, Title, Position Access Information Courses Research
Dyanne Affonso, Ph.D.
Affiliate Professor
Office:
Phone:
E-mail: daffonso@hawaii.edu
Currently none
Community violence and mental health, perinatal depression.
Dan Landis, Ph.D.
Affiliate Professor
Office:
Phone:
E-mail: danl@hawaii.edu
Website: interculturalacademy.org/briefbio.htm
Currently none
Inter-cultural relations, cross-cultural training
Part-Time Faculty
Name, Title, Position Access Information Courses
The department employs a large number of part-time instructors whose assignments change every semester. For information  about the current part-time faculty please contact the department's chair.

Please contact the department's chair for information about the current semester's lecturers Courses taught by the part-time faculty are determined every semester on the basis of the current departmental needs. 

Page updated:January 2017