UH Hilo Research Council

UH Hilo Home > Research at UH Hilo

The UH Hilo Research Council, whose members are appointed by the vice chancellor for academic affairs for three-year terms, is the chief recommending body for the vice chancellor. The council administers the intramural grant program, proposes policies and procedures for extramural grant activities, and advises the vice chancellor on matters concerned with research and grant activity.



  • Ken Hon, Chair, Physical Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Andre Bachmann, Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy
  • Jim Beets, Life Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sharyl Kasarskis, Proposal Coordinator, RAPD Office
  • Drew Martin, College of Business and Economics
  • Mike Marshall, Humanities, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jim Mellon, Student Affairs
  • Lynn Morrison, Social Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dawn Namahoe, Research Council Financial Officer
  • Don Price, Graduate Council and Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science Program
  • Kathleen Stacey, Library
  • Marcel Tsang, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resource Management
  • Pila Wilson, Ka Haka ‘Ula O Ke‘elikĊlani College of Hawaiian Language
  • Sharon Ziegler-Chong, Co-Op Grants, Office of Research