Skip to content

Vulcan Hall of Fame nominations available

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Thursday, April 9, 2009
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

After a six-year hiatus, Dr. Luoluo Hong, vice chancellor for student affairs & acting athletic director, today announced that the University of Hawai╩╗i at Hilo Vulcan Athletic Hall of Fame is currently accepting nominations for its 14th class of inductees. Categories for prospective honorees are Athlete, Coach, Administrator and Community Member.

Athlete nominees must have exhausted their eligibility at UH Hilo and completed their playing days prior to the end of the spring 2004 season. Exceptions may be made for inability to complete due to physical/medical reasons. Graduation from UH Hilo is not a requirement, but graduates will receive preference from the selection committee.

Coach, Administrator or Community nominees must have made significant contributions over time that enhanced the image of Vulcan Athletics. A coach or administrator must not have served the UH Hilo Athletic Department in a paid capacity within the past five years. There is no waiting period for community nominees.

Current members of the Vulcan Athletic Hall of Fame are: baseball players Guy Oshiro and Lance Suyama; basketball players Gene Arceneaux, Jay Bartholomew, Neville Brandt, Jim DeGroot, Pat Fitzgerald, Frank Gipson, Gilbert Hicks, Bill OÔÇÖRear, Ia Saipaia, Nelson Wong, Trevor Wright and Todd Zirbel; cross country runner Karl Honma; golfer Deron Doi; softball players Crissy Alnas, Tracie Lagrimas, Kristy Odamura, Rynee Rodrigues and Melveena Starkey; the 1981 AIAW and NAIA national volleyball team players Shirley Ah Tou, Carla Carpenter, Joy Downey, Kathy Hong, Pauahi Ioane, Charlene Kahuanui, Marve Keama, Peka Malae, Edie Manzano, Sheryl Scott, Nalani Spencer, Alofa Tagataese and Cindy Whitworth plus individual players Glennie Adams, Flo Alo, Carpenter, Tanya Fuamatu, Kahuanui, Laurie Kemp, Hae Ja Kim, Lyndell Lindsey, Malae, Manzano, Spencer, Tagataese and Whitworth; basketball coach Jimmy Yagi; administrators Ramon Goya and Edwin H. Mookini; and community members Maggie Carmichael, Wallace Chong Jr., Hugh Clark, Ray Fornof, Tom Goya, George and Marion Hall, Wayne Miyao, James Morita, Walt Southward and Harvey Tajiri.

For more information or a nomination form, call Glen Kagamida at 974-7543 or e-mail Kagamida also requests that Hall of Fame members or their families and survivors contact him to update the HallÔÇÖs contact list and to send him digital photographs of members for a Vulcan Hall of Fame Web site currently under construction.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.