Skip to content

60th Anniversary End of Year Awards at UH Hilo

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Friday, May 16, 2008
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The University of Hawaii at Hilo recently recognized faculty, staff and student workers for outstanding performance and accomplishments at its annual End of the Year Awards ceremony on May 8. UH Hilo also celebrated 60 years of service to the community.

“A University cannot operate without dedicated individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty, and these people we are recognizing are among many at UH Hilo who go above and beyond the call on a daily basis,” said Chancellor Rose Tseng.

Lynette N. Egusa, a counselor in the financial aid office, received the Pūlama ‘Ike Award, for significant contribution to developing and promoting the mission and spirit of the University.

Dr. Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi, a professor of entomology, received the Distinguished Service Award for Improving Student Life, for outstanding contributions to student life beyond the boundaries of their official responsibilities.

Dr. Cheryl M. Ramos, an assistant professor of psychology, received the Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation. The award is funded by the Koichi and Taniyo Taniguchi Memorial Endowment Fund, established in memory of the founders of KTA Superstores. The award recognizes the creative use of technology in teaching, scholarship, research and artistic production by full-time faculty or staff at UH Hilo. Eligible innovations may be creations developed for a specific teaching, research or artistic purpose, or may be unique or clever applications of existing technology.

Neal Nagao, building maintenance supervisor, received the Excellence in Building and Grounds Maintenance Award.

Recognized for 30 years of service to the University were: Dr. Michael Tanabe, professor of plant science; Dr. Barbara Heintz, a counselor in the student affairs office; and Corinne L. Tamashiro, program coordinator for the College of Continuing Education and Community Service.

Recognized for 20 years of service to the University were: Dr. Richard Crowe, professor of astronomy and astronomer-in-residence at ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawai‘i; Dr. Erik Cleveland, associate professor of animal science; Dr. Alton Okinaka, associate professor of sociology; Kerwin Iwamoto, director of human resources; Susan Horimoto, an administrative officer in the Business Office; Neal Nagao, building maintenance supervisor; and Dean Miyose, groundskeeper working supervisor.

Recognized for 10 years of service to the University were: Dr. Emmeline G. de Pillis, professor of management; Dr. Vladimir B. Skorikov, professor of psychology; Dr. Peter Mills, associate professor of anthropology; Dr. Manulani J. Meyer, associate professor of education; Dr. Enbao Wang, associate professor of political science; Andrew Grabar, associate professor of art; Timothy A. Eakins, athletic trainer and director of academic services in the office of intercollegiate athletics; Michelle Miyaji, a library technician; Amy Jones, an admissions specialist; Jodilyn K. Kunimoto, an academic advisor; Lynn Namihira, a clerk-stenographer in the Nursing program; Nellie Hamada, a clerk-typist in the Financial Aid Office; and Sharon Kessinger, a clerk in the vice chancellor of student affairs office.

Retirements between April 2007 and March 2008 include: Dr. Bill Chen, professor of computer science, director of Office of Technology and Distance Learning with 35 years of service; Audrey Furukawa, executive assistant to the chancellor, with 33 years of service; Al Honda, electronics technician in media services with 36 years of service; Greg Nielson, farm manager and agricultural research technician with 31 years of service; Dr. Craig Severance, professor of anthropology with 30 years of service; Dr. Sherryll Mleynek, professor of literature with 17 years of service and a past recipient of the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching; Darryl Mleynek, statewide director of the Small Business Development Center with 12 years of service; Ellie Nishikawa, human resources officer with 18 years of service; Marcia Miller, an instructor in education with 13 years of service; Ululani Sherlock, who served two years with the Office of Mauna Kea Management and previously served on the Kahu Ku Mauna advisory board; Dr. Howard Van Trease, five years service as history department faculty; and Rudy Dawana, a janitor with 17 years service.

Volunteers assist with landscaping duties at UH Hilo, provide floral arrangements and volunteer other services. Some volunteer though the Retired Seniors Volunteer Program (RSVP) and others volunteer on their own. Recognized for their volunteer service to the University were: Ramon Abong, Harue Kaneshiro, Robert Koga, Caroline Madrid, George Matsubara, Philomina Rabago, Sueno Saruwateri, Jean Funai, Shirley Kawamoto, Chiyono Kinoshita, Junko Nowaki, and Lynne Shimazu.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.