Skip to content

Event to honor distinguished alumni and distinguished service recipients

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Wednesday, January 26, 2005
Contact: Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, 974-7642

For Immediate Release

The University of Hawaii at Hilo Alumni and Friends Association invites the public to its Distinguished Alumni and Service Award Banquet on February 25, 2005, beginning at 5:30pm. in the UH Hilo Campus Center Dining Room. The RSVP deadline is February 11.

“This traditional signature event honors individuals for their accomplishments and contributions to the University and community, and provides an opportunity for alumni and friends to network and join in the celebrations,” said Marketing and Alumni Director Yu Yok Pearring.

Mr. Jerry Chang (1978), Mr. Kelly Moran (1985), Dr. Cheryl LeiAloha (1987), Dr. Sneha Sood (1980), and Ms. Laura Figuera (1970) will be presented with the Distinguished Alumni Award. The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Mr. Barry Taniguchi and the Kanaka`ole-Kanahele Family.

Cost is $40 per person, which includes a buffet and no-host cocktails. A silent auction will also be held to raise scholarship funds for children and immediate relatives of alumni attending UH Hilo.

For more information and reservations, call the Marketing and Alumni Office at 974-7501 or 974-7643.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.