Skip to content

UH Hilo athletes, alumni receive recognition

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Thursday, February 21, 2002
Contact: Yu Yok Perring (808) 974-7501

For Immediate Release

The public is invited to the 10th Annual City Bank/Vulcan Athletic Hall of Fame Induction ceremony, which will be held on Saturday, March 2, 2002 at 4:00 p.m. in the University of Hawai`i at Hilo Campus Center Dining Room. This year's inductees include the 1981 UH Hilo women's volleyball team, the late Chancellor Edwin H. Mookini and former Vulcan basketball player Ia Saipaia.

The 1981 Vulcan Volleyball team, which won both the NAIA and the AIAW national championships, included Charlene Kahuanui, Sheryl Scott, Cynthia Whitworth, Alofa Tagataese, Pauahi Ioane, Shirley AhTou, Peka Malae, Carla Carpenter, Joyette Downey, Nalani Spencer, Marve Keama, Kathy Hong, Edie Manzano, Assistant Coach Richard Tiogangco and Head Coach Sharon Peterson. Mookini served as chancellor of UH Hilo from November 1975 to June 1978. During his tenure, the Vulcan men's basketball team advanced to the NAIA
National Tournament twice and the women's volleyball team captured a second place finish in the AIAW National Tournament.

Saipaia was the co-captain of the 1980-81 basketball team. Despite injuries, he led the Vulcans with 11.7 points per game and 119 assists. In addition to the Athletic Hall of Fame Induction, the UH Hilo Distinguished Alumni Awards will be presented. This year's Distinguished Alumni award recipients are Wayne Miyao, Dr. Martin Dickman, and Maile Andrade. Toshimasa and Harumi Takahashi will also be receiving the Distinguished Service award.

Miyao, a long-time supporter of UH Hilo Athletics, has raised $25,000 for the Athletic scholarship fund he established in honor of his parents, Miyoko and Miyato Miyao. Miyao is an active member of the Honolulu community, serving as advisor to the Honolulu Japanese Chamber of Commerce since 1980, the Japanese culture Center of Hawai`i, the Pro Bowl Host Committee, and the Kuakini Foundation. He has also hosted several fundraising dinners to honor various community public servants. Miyao has won 23 awards for his community service and his marketing efforts over the years.

Dickman is widely recognized for his work in the area of plant-fungal interaction. Dickman's research has been recognized at the University of Nebraska, where he received the Junior Faculty Recognition for Excellence
in Research Award in 1991. Dickman has served on the US-AID International Development Grant Program Grant Review Committee. He has also served as associate and senior editor for several academic journals. Andrade is a lecturer and consultant for a variety of community and cultural associations, including the 1999 World Indigenous Peoples Conference in Hilo. While at UH Hilo, Andrade served as president of the Student Art Association and received the Chancellor's Purchase Award for her work in ceramics.

Toshimasa "Thomas" and Harumi "Doris" Takahashi are well known to UH Hilo's international students. The Takahashis have opened their home and hearts to students for over 10 years, by helping them fix broken cars and sharing home cooked meals. The cost for the Athletic Hall of Fame Induction ceremony and Distinguished Alumni Award dinner is $20.00. A second package, including admission to two UH Hilo basketball games, pre-game and post-game receptions, and the award dinner, is available for $35. The first UH Hilo basketball game, against Hawai`i Pacific University, will be on Friday, March 1, 2002, at 7:15 p.m. at the Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium. There will be a pre-game reception for alumni beginning at 6:15 p.m.

Saturday, March 2, will begin with the Hall of Fame Induction and Distinguished Alumni Award Dinner at 4:00 p.m. in the UH Hilo Campus Center Dining Room. The second UH Hilo basketball game, against Hawai`i Pacific
University, begins at 7:15 p.m. at the Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium. There will be a post-game reception held for alumni.

For more information, please contact Yu Yok Perring at (808) 974-7501.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.