Skip to content

UH Hilo honors faculty, staff and volunteers during year-end recognition

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Friday, May 3, 2002
Contact: Dr. Rose Tseng, (808) 974-7444

For Immediate Release

(L-R) Awardees Haunani Bernardino, Wesley Kahakua, Alton Okinaka are congratulated by UH Hilo Congress Chair Nina Buchanan and Chancellor Rose Tseng.

Three members of the University of Hawai`i at Hilo faculty and staff were honored for their contributions during the Chancellor's End of the Year Celebration and Recognition Ceremony held on May 2, 2002.

Dr. Alton M. Okinaka, associate professor of sociology, received both the Excellence in Service Award and the Distinguished Service Award for Improving Student Life. Haunani T. Bernardino, associate professor of Hawaiian and Hawaiian studies, was presented with the Pulama `Ike Award. Wesley Kahakua, a grounds keeper, was the recipient of the Excellence in Building and Grounds Maintenance Award.

Service awards were also given to faculty and staff who completed 10, 20, 30 and 40 years of service to the University, while six others received retirement recognition awards: Dr. Gary Best, professor of history; Jimmy Gonzales, business office; Dr. George Koide, professor of computer science; Dr. Carole Miura, professor of mathematics; Patrick Omori, registrar; and Harry Polinar, auxiliary services.

Volunteers received special recognition as Chancellor Rose Tseng paid tribute to the University's senior volunteers, Advisory Board members, the Athletic Booster Club and the presidents of the three East Hawai`i-based Chamber of Commerce organizations.

"You can't say enough about the contributions of our faculty, staff and volunteers," said Tseng. "We are fortunate to have so many dedicated individuals who give so freely of their time and talents to make this University a special place."

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.