Skip to content

Chancellor's Scholarship recipients announced

UH Hilo Home > News and Events > UH Hilo Press Releases

Date: Wednesday, July 31, 2002
Contact: Jim Mellon, (808) 933-0859

For Immediate Release

The University of Hawai`i at Hilo has announced the first group of students to receive the prestigious Chancellor's Scholarship. This new four-year scholarship was created to attract outstanding graduates from public high schools throughout Hawai`i to UH Hilo.

The 18 recipients for the 2002-2003 academic year graduated in the top 10 percent of their respective high school classes. Other selection criteria includes a minimum 3.5 grade point average (GPA), difficulty of courses completed, SAT scores, leadership experience and potential, and financial need. Students will also be required to maintain a cumulative 3.5 GPA to retain the scholarship on a year-to-year basis.

"We're very pleased to extend scholarship opportunities to these students, who have distinguished themselves through their hard work and dedication," said Chancellor Rose Tseng. "We look forward to playing a significant role in their continued academic development." Each of the Chancellor's Scholarship recipients will be invited to participate in various leadership opportunities throughout their college careers. The students and their majors are as follows:

Hilo High School: Megan Johnston (Business Administration); Brett Okajima (Computer Science); Brendee Okano (Pre-Nursing); Nichole Rahberg (General); and Yvonne Yoshishige (General). Waiakea High School: Tracy Branco (Business Administration); Cherie Corpuz (Business Administration); Lindsey Shimizu (Astronomy); and Brandon Young (undecided). Honoka'a High School: Marites Calibuso (Biology); Charmelei White (Marine Science); and Michelle Wong (Marine Science).

Other recipients include Joanna DeRego (Agriculture), King Kekaulike High School; Michelle Fujie (undecided), Lanai City High School; Leilani LeeLoy (Physics), Kealakehe High School; Rebecca Mulanix (Computer Science), Kohala High School; Casey Piedra (Physics), Kaimuki High School; and Faye Plescia (Communication), Pahoa High School.

Disclaimer: The University of Hawaii at Hilo is not responsible for the contents, links and/or materials presented in any web site listed above that are not of the "" or "" domains. All comments, complaints and grievances should be filed with the author, host and/or owner of said site.