UH Hilo Diversity Committee

The UH Hilo Diversity Committee serves as an advisory committee to the chancellor.

The charge of the UH Hilo Diversity Committee is to assist the UH Hilo campus "to cultivate, sustain and reflect a diverse, multicultural university that is rooted in the indigenous history of Hawai‘i" (UH Hilo Strategic Plan 2011-2015). The committee provides advice, consultation and recommendations to the chancellor and his senior leadership team that help UH Hilo promote a diverse, inclusive and respectful campus community. It serves as a venue for facilitating campus-wide dialogue on diversity issues related to our living, learning and working environment.





  • Norman Arancon, Assistant Professor of Horticulture (faculty)
  • Noah Dolim, Student Representative
  • Kristi Doran, Office Assistant, Office of Campus Technology
  • Audrey Hirayama, Secretary, Athletics (staff)
  • Erika Jardine, Student Representative
  • Vidalino Raatior, Director, UH Hilo Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-Serving Institutions (AANAPISI) program and the Pacific Islander Student Center (faculty specialist)
  • Scott Saft, Assistant Professor of Linguistics (faculty)
  • Zachary Street, Associate Director, National Student Exchange (staff)
  • Hannah Wu, Coordinator, Women's Center

Ex officio Members:

  • Randy Hirokawa, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences (administration)
  • Luoluo Hong, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (administration)
  • Jube Kuewa, Acting Director, Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action (administration)
  • Kalei Rapoza, Associate Director, Human Resources
  • Susan Shirachi, Director, University Disability Services (faculty)

Call for Proposals

2013-2014 Call for Proposals. Deadline to submit is April 11, 2014. See also Call for Proposals web page.